Express Milwaukee - Video Game Reviews http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-303-1-video-game-reviews.html Sat, 19 Apr 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD - 7.5 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19476-tony-hawks-pro-skater-hd-75-out-of-10.html Ah, memories. I bought the first Tony Hawk game solely based on the reviews, and I bought the second game solely because it became the go-to video game in the dorms during college. Everyone was playing it. Everyone was losing sleep over it...]]> Video game review: Penny Arcade - 8.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19066-video-game-review-penny-arcade-80-out-of-10.html In anticipation of the release of Penny Arcade's third game coming out next week, I made a point of downloading the first two “episodes” to give them a whirl. I had relatively few expectations...]]> Video Game Review: Game of Thrones - 5.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18997-video-game-review-game-of-thrones-50-out-of-10.html Ninja Gaiden 3 - 6.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18581-ninja-gaiden-3-60-out-of-10.html I can't believe I'm saying this, but I seriously worry that “Americanizing” this series has hurt it. I know, I know … I usually hate Japanese storytelling. But when it came to the Ninja Gaiden series, the storytelling was for the most part pretty...]]> Street Fight X Tekken Review - 9.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18512-street-fight-x-tekken-review-90-out-of-10.html The Witcher 2 - 7.5 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18444-the-witcher-2-75-out-of-10.html I know I said I was going to review Ninja Gaiden, but I couldn't help pick up a copy of The Witcher 2 when I stopped by the local game store. Full disclosure: I have no idea whatsoever what happened in the first game. I picked this up on a whim...]]> Dark Sector - 7.5 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18371-dark-sector-75-out-of-10.html Since my nearest Blockbuster is now officially closed (and I'm struggling to figure out where the NEXT nearest one is), I thought I'd hop on down to the local video game store to examine the newly released, overpriced games. Ninja Gaiden 3?]]> Mass Effect 3: Second Thoughts http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18124-mass-effect-3-second-thoughts.html It occurred to me as I was fooling around with Mass Effect 3 this week that I was, in the heat of the excitement, perhaps a bit hasty in glossing over some of the things that really ticked me off about this game...]]> Mass Effect 3 - 9.9 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-18056-mass-effect-3-99-out-of-10.html Well, once again intergalactic politics has made a mess of things. You tried to warn them. For two freaking games, Command Shepherd tried to warn them all. The Reapers are coming! No, really, they're coming! And they're going to destroy...]]> Asura's Wrath - 7.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17979-asuras-wrath-70-out-of-10.html Oh sweet Jesus, I can't wait for Mass Effect 3 to come out. It's reached a point where I can't even enjoy other games for more than a few hours. Here is Asura's Wrath, a perfectly commendable game with colorful graphics, sleek style, and some decent...]]> The Darkness 2 - 7.5 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17813-the-darkness-2-75-out-of-10.html One of the things you sort of get used to with comic book-inspired games is the goofiness. Sometimes, it's goofy dialogue. Sometimes, it's goofy writing. Sometimes, it's goofy events. Darkness 2 has a little bit of all of this, which makes...]]> Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - 7.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17688-kingdoms-of-amalur-reckoning-70-out-of-10.html Well, you had to go and die, didn't you? Thankfully, there's an app for that. It's called the Well of Souls, and it just saved your butt. That's a good thing, because a horrible race of creatures is ravaging the world, and your character—male or female...]]> Soulcalibur V - 7.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17604-soulcalibur-v-70-out-of-10.html Well, another Soulcalibur is finally out. Do we all care? A little. I've always had a soft spot for the franchise, especially the third and fourth games, which were played in a drunken state with friends who swore like sailors. The fifth game...]]> NFL Blitz - 7.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17487-nfl-blitz-70-out-of-10.html It's been a little over a week since the Packers effectively crushed my winter dreams. Dissatisfied with the end to the season, I downloaded a copy of NFL Blitz in order to control the Packers and show the world how it's done. That turned out...]]> Shadows of the Damned - 5.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17428-shadows-of-the-damned-50-out-of-10.html I decided to try out this game because there was nothing else to pick up at the local Blockbuster. That, and I wanted to give another Suda 51 game a whirl. I've developed a certain animosity toward Japanese video games at this point, because...]]> Gaming Hardware Update http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17316-gaming-hardware-update.html For those of you interested in knowing more about where games are headed (and how pretty they're going to look), I thought I'd compile some information to make sure you can stay up to speed...]]> The Top 10 Video Game Moments of 2011 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17261-the-top-10-video-game-moments-of-2011.html God, I hate end-of-the-year lists. But I'm making an exception for this one because the world of video games produced so much awesome, bad, and strange stuff that it's almost impossible to have caught everything. So let's take an Xbox-heavy look...]]> Assassin's Creed: Revelations Review - 8.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-17119-assassins-creed-revelations-review-80-out-of-10.html So Assassin's Creed has finally come to a close. Quite frankly, I'm glad. It's not that I've ever grown tired of the amazing visuals—I haven't, and in this game it's no different … the graphics are amazing. It's not that I've ever grown tired...]]> Video Game Reviews: Legend of Zelda, Mario Kart, and More! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16963-video-game-reviews-legend-of-zelda-mario-kart-and-more_.html I feel bad, having such a limited supply of funds, given how many amazing games have come out recently. And so this week I decided to run through some of the other video game magazines (my “competitors”) to filter out the most honest reviews to...]]> Elder Scrolls: Skyrim Review - 10 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16829-elder-scrolls-skyrim-review-10-out-of-10.html Having not gotten into the other Elder Scrolls games, I hoped against hope that I'd be able to jump into Skyrim without feeling lost. Thankfully, that's exactly how I felt. While the makers of the game clearly provide a number of treats for people...]]> Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review - 8.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16773-call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3-review-80-out-of-10.html Reviews: Sonic Generations, Orcs Must Die!, and Burger Time http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16647-reviews-sonic-generations-orcs-must-die_-and-burger-time.html ]]> Battlefield 3 - 7.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16572-battlefield-3-70-out-of-10.html I anticipate hate mail, given that I'm probably offering the worse...]]> Batman: Arkham City - 9.9 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16501-batman-arkham-city-99-out-of-10.html There's no such thing as perfection. In fact, if Rocksteady's newest Batman...]]> Video Game Review: Dark Souls - 7.5 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-16356-video-game-review-dark-souls-75-out-of-10.html There's something a little terrifying about getting a “good luck” from your local video game retailer. One, it never happens. Two, I couldn't help but notice the retailer's wide eyes, to say nothing of the tone in his voice that seemed full of genuine...]]> Bodycount, Video Games News - 5.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-15984-bodycount-video-games-news-50-out-of-10.html I rented this little fella on a whim...]]> Revew: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - 8.8 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-15863-revew-deus-ex-human-revolution-88-out-of-10.html Boy oh boy are you going to enjoy this one. Whether you've played the original...]]> Fallout: Old World Blues Review - 9.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-15733-fallout-old-world-blues-review-90-out-of-10.html Now here's a real downloadable addition to the Fallout franchise...]]> Fallout: Honest Hearts - 8.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-15666-fallout-honest-hearts-80-out-of-10.html Welcome to Zion National Park. Yes, it's just as you remembered it...]]> Video Game Reviews: Dragon Age II: Legacy DLC - 9.0 out of 10 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-15609-video-game-reviews-dragon-age-ii-legacy-dlc-90-out-of-10.html The first Dragon Age II...]]>