Express Milwaukee - Taking Liberties http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-3-1-taking-liberties.html Sun, 20 Apr 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Republican Ideas Wreck the Economy, But Still Popular http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23136-republican-ideas-wreck-the-economy-but-still-popular.html

 To any thoughtful observer of politics, one of the biggest frustrations is watching is just how politically

]]>
Basketball Smoke Dreams http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23100-basketball-smoke-dreams.html Everybody goes a little basketball crazy during the NCAA tournament, but some of the talk around basketball in Milwaukee these days]]> Encourage Good Students, Don’t Censor Them http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23032-encourage-good-students-don%25E2%2580%2599t-censor-them.html

 Because the loudest critics of education don’t really like either teachers or kids very much, those two groups usually receive the most

]]>
Love and Hate at the Ballpark http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22973-love-and-hate-at-the-ballpark.html

 The start of baseball season with every team tied for first place used to be the time when Milwaukee Brewers fans could put everything out of their minds other than their

]]>
Republicans Against Democracy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22869-republicans-against-democracy.html

 Remember community Get Out The Vote campaigns? Those were the days. Although most of the warm memories folks have as they get older, in which everything

]]>
Paul Ryan’s Lunch Bag Lie http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22790-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-lunch-bag-lie.html

 Until his fundamental dishonesty was exposed in a national campaign, Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan had an undeserved reputation among gullible members of the media as a bright, young

]]>
Walker's Tax-Cut Plan Will Make Pothole Problem Worse http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22762-walkers-tax-cut-plan-will-make-pothole-problem-worse.html

 Suddenly, in Milwaukee and across much of the country, one totally mundane, down-to-earth, common-as-dirt topic seems to be crowding out all those contrived

]]>
Walker’s New Campaign Slogan: http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22727-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-new-campaign-slogan.html

 “Never Been Indicted!” is not a very strong campaign

]]>
The Fight for a Living Wage http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22681-the-fight-for-a-living-wage.html

 We’ve seen enough hard times recently to know unemployment can lead to a life of poverty. But what kind of country are we living in when full-time workers also live in poverty?

]]>
Defacing Our Constitution with Anti-LGBT Bigotry http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22640-defacing-our-constitution-with-anti-lgbt-bigotry.html

 Drunken sailors, lovesick teenagers and right-wing politicians probably shouldn’t be allowed to get tattoos or pass constitutional amendments. What seems like a slick

]]>
Obama in Tea Party’s Waukesha County http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22610-obama-in-tea-party%25E2%2580%2599s-waukesha-county.html

 What in the world was President Barack Obama doing two days after his State of the Union address braving the wilds of Waukesha County, one of America’s most virulent centers of

]]>
Collateral Damage from Walker’s Speech http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22568-collateral-damage-from-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-speech.html

 Pre-election state-of-the-state speeches by governors are even more dishonest than they are in other years. In Republican Gov. Scott Walker’s speech, he pretended Wisconsin’s job creation

]]>
Seven-Day Workweek Is a Slave Driver’s Dream http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22540-seven-day-workweek-is-a-slave-driver%25E2%2580%2599s-dream.html

 I have seen the future of employment in Wisconsin that Gov. Scott Walker and legislative Republicans dream about when they nod off to sleep with visions of non-union sugarplums

]]>
Ron Johnson vs. Health Care http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22492-ron-johnson-vs-health-care.html The most surprising thing to most state residents about Wisconsin Sen. Ron Johnson filing a lawsuit against Obamacare is that the Republican senator is doing anything at all]]> Paul Ryan’s Budget Cuts Target Veterans and Unemployed http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22455-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-budget-cuts-target-veterans-and-unemployed.html

 It was bound to happen. With Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan stubbornly—and incorrectly—insisting government has to reduce spending for absolutely everything, eventually his vicious cuts were going to become too much even for many Republicans

]]>
Scott Walker's Scariest Tax Plan Yet http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22426-scott-walkers-scariest-tax-plan-yet.html

 If you thought Republican Gov. Scott Walker’s destruction of bargaining rights for public employees was politically and economically devastating for Wisconsin, you ain’t seen nothing yet

]]>
Walker Is Responsible for the State's Economic Disaster http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22393-walker-is-responsible-for-the-states-economic-disaster.html

 We’ve known for a long time Republican Gov. Scott Walker’s re-election may very well be determined by how successfully he can explain away the complete disaster he has made of

]]>
Cow Abuse Video Highlights the Dangers of Factory Farms http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22360-cow-abuse-video-highlights-the-dangers-of-factory-farms.html

 Only in Wisconsin would the sordid Abu Ghraib prison torture scandal be re-enacted

]]>
Republicans Taxing Millionaires! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22322-republicans-taxing-millionaires_.html

 Great news in Wisconsin for anyone who believes the wealthy should pay more in taxes instead of continuing to be showered with the lion’s

]]>
CCAP’s Criminal Records Are the Official State Blacklist http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22280-ccap%25E2%2580%2599s-criminal-records-are-the-official-state-blacklist.html

 As someone who’s spent a career in journalism, I know exactly what my position should be on access to public records about criminal and civil violations of the law. Public records are public

]]>
The Last Deer Hunt http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22244-the-last-deer-hunt.html

 Ed called up Charley and said the two of them owed it to themselves to go on one last Wisconsin deer hunt. They weren’t getting any younger and everybody else in their old deer hunting party was long gone.

Boy, those were some great memories, if only they could remember them

]]>
Republican Assembly of Fools Ends Session by Gutting Voting Rights and Limiting Recalls http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22199-republican-assembly-of-fools-ends-session-by-gutting-voting-rights-and-limiting-recalls.html

 The reason the Wisconsin Legislature has become such a total public embarrassment is the same reason why so many members of hot rock ’n’ roll bands die young

]]>
Mascot Flap Shows Race-Based Ignorance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22151-mascot-flap-shows-race-based-ignorance.html

 The insistence of some high schools, colleges and even one professional sports franchise in our nation’s capital that they have a right to use racially offensive

]]>
Milwaukee County Budget Conflicts http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22104-milwaukee-county-budget-conflicts.html

Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele started something really ugly when he conspired with Gov. Scott Walker and Republican legislators

]]>
Walker’s All-You-Can-Grab Campaign Cash http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22067-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-all-you-can-grab-campaign-cash.html

 For any politician running for re-election, it’s a dream come true. That’s the proposal for the construction of

]]>
Walker’s $100 Million Tax Scam http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22030-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-%2524100-million-tax-scam.html Golly, can anybody in this state think of a better way to spend $100 million than trying to buy Wisconsin voters with a 13-buck tip]]> Republicans Against Wealth http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21987-republicans-against-wealth.html

 A funny thing happened after Mary Burke...

]]>
The Anti-Business Party http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21934-the-anti-business-party.html

 Anyone who believes that what’s going on politically in America right now is simply politics as usual really doesn’t have a clue what’s going on politically in America right now.

]]>
Shattering an Unholy Alliance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21878-shattering-an-unholy-alliance.html

 In recent years, an unholy alliance between conservative Catholic clerics and right-wing politicians has become so brazen many people may have forgotten there was once widespread fear of

]]>
The Perils of Reform http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21859-the-perils-of-reform.html

 There have always been good people working to improve our criminal justice system so that it saves and improves lives instead

]]>