Express Milwaukee - Poetry http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-270-1-poetry.html Mon, 21 Apr 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Georg Trakl in the Green Sun http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23150-georg-trakl-in-the-green-sun.html Foothills Panic http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23108-foothills-panic.html  

There's a grocery store at the foot of the mountain

Where they misspell the name so you remember it better.

]]>
Skepticism—six demonstrations http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23071-skepticism%25E2%2580%2594six-demonstrations.html  

“We admit the apparent fact,” say they, “without admitting that it really is

what it appears to be.”. . .[I]n his work On the Senses, [Timon says,] “I do

]]>
a rat in the subway http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23014-a-rat-in-the-subway.html Motorboating in Harlem http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22935-motorboating-in-harlem.html unruly clock. http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22841-unruly-clock.html  

How strangely things unmoor themselves.

For instance, overhead: shadow of a bird

]]>
Palais Jamais http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22780-palais-jamais.html Baubo’s Leaven http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22740-baubo%25E2%2580%2599s-leaven.html Winter Moon and Tree http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22705-winter-moon-and-tree.html  

Last night the full moon pushed

on the new tree in our back yard]]>
SING ME THAT http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22665-sing-me-that.html Comes with Galore http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22631-comes-with-galore.html A COUPLA YEGGS http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22589-a-coupla-yeggs.html Pill http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22579-pill.html SELAH http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22517-selah.html what it does http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22469-what-it-does.html LANDLORD LAMENTATIONS http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22432-landlord-lamentations.html Atheist Blows Up Baby Jesus http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22385-atheist-blows-up-baby-jesus.html Mother Crushing on God http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22336-mother-crushing-on-god.html AQUAMARINE HOUSE http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22298-aquamarine-house.html Strippers http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22259-strippers.html A Grammatic Monologue http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22212-a-grammatic-monologue.html Two run-on sentences careened around a line. The Colon twins, trying to avoid fragmentation]]> partly blaze http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22168-partly-blaze.html  

I don't know who

the teacher in me

]]>
Poem for the Penokee Hills http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22128-poem-for-the-penokee-hills.html ANCESTORS http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22072-ancestors.html  

In my childhood the streams brought

sacred beads

that I hung on my chest

]]>
Sunflower Regiment http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22034-sunflower-regiment.html Bone Lake http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21997-bone-lake.html The Jack Pines http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21959-the-jack-pines.html To The Woman Beside Me In Seat 16B http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21915-to-the-woman-beside-me-in-seat-16b.html  

I resisted the urge to touch your foot,

all I know now of dainty—

]]>
Jim Hazard: The Missing Year http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21870-jim-hazard-the-missing-year.html Why'd You Write This, My Son Asks http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21830-whyd-you-write-this-my-son-asks.html  This poem was written as nun-chucks to stab bad-guys in the eye. This poem was written in the shape of a plumed garbage bag to be held high above the head while jumping from a jungle gym

]]>