Home / Tag: Turner Hall Ballroom
Monday, Feb. 1, 2010

Jan. 30, 2010

Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar hail from different sides of the tracks. The Death Cab for Cutie frontman is the gentle romantic type who broods about lost loves, while the Son Volt lead singer is more of the country punk who wouldn't be out...
Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Oct. 1, MPTV Community Cinema: The 1930s’ Civilian Conservation Corps @ Discovery World, 6 p.m. The Civilian Conservation Corps, one of the boldest and most effective of all the New Deal programs, put men to work...
Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Sept. 10, Jazz in the Park w/ Chicago Afrobeat Project @ Cathedral Square Park, 6:30 p.m.All Afrobeat bands owe some debt to genre pioneer Fela Kuti, but the Chicago Afrobeat Project is particularly beholden to his legacy. The group’s recent album, (A) Move to Silent Unrest...
Wednesday, Aug. 26, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Aug. 27, Prestige Atlantic Impulse @ Sugar Maple, 8 p.m. Affirming Victor DeLorenzo’s status as perhaps the most musically adventurous of all the Violent Femmes, the drummer’s new project, Prestige Atlantic Impulse, is an experimental jazz trio worlds removed from the Femmes’ signature folk-punk.
Wednesday, Aug. 19, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Aug. 20, WMSE’s Radio Summer Camp w/ Sometime Sweet Susan @ Turner Hall Ballroom, 7 p.m. WMSE launches its Radio Summer Camp festival, a multi-day, multi-venue concert series, with tonight’s showcase of Milwaukee music past and present at Turner Hall Ballroom. Headliners...
Wednesday, Aug. 12, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Aug. 13, Irish Fest @ Summerfest Grounds. One year shy of its 30th anniversary, Milwaukee’s Irish Fest once again transforms the Summerfest grounds into a haven for Celtic culture. This year’s festival features musical performances from artist 3 Pints Gone, Gaelic Storm, The Red...
Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Friday, August 7, The Misfits w/ Speed Freaks, Get Rad and Self Destruckt @ The Modjeska Theater, 8 p.m. In a feud that resembles the messy split between Pink Floyd’s Roger Waters and David Gilmour, The Misfits’ founding members Glenn Danzig and Jerry Only have been battling...
Tuesday, Aug. 4, 2009
Lykke Li is a mystery, "even to myself," she says. She's capricious and full of contradictions, at once plucky and melancholy, sweet and standoffish. She delights in her eccentricities, and though she doesn't lie, per se, she usually doesn't volunteer the whole truth, either. She spends a good deal of interviews refuting or correcting insinuations she herself made in previous interviews. It's easy to see why so many...
Wednesday, July 22, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, July 23, GZA/Genius @ Apartment 720, 9 p.m. Debates over the best solo Wu-Tang Clan albums inevitably boil down to two 1995 releases, Raekwon’s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx… and GZA’s Liquid Swords. The latter is the more cinematic and foreboding of the two, a fitting showcase...
Wednesday, July 8, 2009
Thursday, July 9, 2009 ComedySportz World Championship @ ComedySportz, 7 p.m. It sounds like the setup to a bad joke—and no doubt it will prompt a few—but this afternoon at 1 p.m. a Buddhist priest, a Catholic priest and a rabbi will all be on hand to bless a ceremony by the veteran...

0|9