Home / Tag: Shank Hall
Wednesday, June 10, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, June 11, Fat Maw Rooney w/ Euforquestra @ The Miramar Theatre, 9 p.m. Though the re-emergence of Phish as a touring act this summer after a long slumber might threaten to steal the spotlight from other bands of a similar jam persuasion, Fat Maw Rooney shouldn't...
Wednesday, June 3, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, June 4, Jazz in the Park w/ Bonifas Quintet @ Cathedral Square Park, 6:30 p.m. Though Milwaukee wasn’t able to sustain a jazz radio station, the Jazz in the Park concert series remains one of the city’s most popular summertime traditions, drawing huge crowds of genre...
Wednesday, May 27, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, May 28, Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers @ Vnuk’s Lounge, 8:30 p.m. While the resilient “King of the Hill” probably keeps royalties flowing to Roger Clyne, who penned the show’s theme song with his ’90s country-rock band, The Refreshments, Clyne has spent the...
Wednesday, April 22, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, April 23, Indigo Girls @ The Pabst Theater, 8 p.m. Amy Ray and Emily Saliers have come a long way since their 1987 debut Strange Fire yielded the hit “Closer to Fine.” The Indigo Girls have remained one of the most popular folk-rock duos over the last two decades, releasing 11 studio albums, including...
Wednesday, March 25, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, March 26, Brian Regan @ The Riverside Theater, 7:30 p.m. For a comedian, a Patton Oswalt endorsement is like having Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski tell you he likes the way you play basketball— it means you’re pretty good at what you do. Brian Regan’s observational comedy lives up to the praise Oswalt...
Wednesday, March 11, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, March 12, A Braves New World @ Discovery World, 7 p.m. Just in time for the spring baseball season, this month sees the release of William Povletich’s Milwaukee Braves: Heroes and Heartbreak, a book that examines the economic and cultural impact of Milwaukee’s first Major League Baseball team...
Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Feb. 19, Larkin Grimm @ Stonefly Brewery, 10 p.m. Like so many artists on Michael Gira’s Young God label, Larkin Grimm blurs the line between spirituality and pretension, filling her faintly Wiccan gypsy folk with all manner of accidental sounds, foreign accents and loopy instruments (she's also a devoted...
Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Feb. 12, Buckwheat Zydeco @ Turner Hall Ballroom, 8 p.m. Perhaps the most popular modern accordionist outside of Weird Al Yankovic, Stanley Dural Jr., better known as Buckwheat Zydeco, returns to Milwaukee to give the city an early taste of Mardi Gras. The Louisianan Creole blues master first cut his...
Saturday, Jan. 31, 2009

Tonight @ Shank Hall - 8 p.m.

Hard rock tribute acts are scattered across cities around the world, playing to mainly hardcore and nostalgic fans. Some even have some quirky takes on the original group such as Mini Kiss, The Kiss tribute featuring midgets. But the faux-Rush tribute act Animation prefers to stick to straight-up covers. The Chicago-based performers are playing Moving Pictures and half of Hemispheres in a more than three-hour set, meaning there’ll...
Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2009

This Week in Milwaukee

Thursday, Jan. 29, The Paul Collins Beat w/ Gentleman Jesse and His Men @ Club Garibaldi, 10 p.m. The Paul Collins Beat—an American group once known simply as The Beat until the British band of the same name created brand confusion, forcing the change— was one of the lucky late-’70s power-pop bands granted...

0|6