Express Milwaukee - Hear Me Out http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-350-1-hear-me-out.html Sat, 22 Nov 2014 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Transgender Day of Remembrance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24396-transgender-day-of-remembrance.html I first met a trans-person two decades ago. She was a friend of a friend. Demure and feminine, she was typically Milwaukee, down to the accent and a taste for brandy Manhattans. Had I not been told she was transgender, I might never have suspected. Then, a troupe of itinerant ]]> Cool Cats Blow Into Town http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24397-cool-cats-blow-into-town.html I’ve never turned down a date with a successful man, but Jack Frost simply isn’t my type. He can drift in and out of my life, but I’m giving that frosty S.O.B. the cold shoulder! Instead, I’m going to curl up with my]]> A Little Something for Everyone http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24350-a-little-something-for-everyone.html What do you like? A pleasant luncheon or a wild weekend? Spending a day planning a future with your significant other or laughing the night away with friends? Whatever ]]> Marriage Equality...now what? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24364-marriage-equalitynow-what.html Back in June, on PrideFest’s opening day and just an hour before the event’s opening ceremony, a federal judge struck down Wisconsin’s anti-gay marriage constitutional amendment. Coincidentally, American Civil Liberties Union’s Chris Ahmuty was on the dais for the opening]]> Spread Your (Right or Left) Wings and Fly http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24300-spread-your-%2528right-or-left%2529-wings-and-fly.html Deep breaths…deep breaths…Halloween in Milwaukee is over and I can finally relax. Between all the parties, special events and contests, I think I’ve had my fix of candy corn, half-naked nurse costumes]]> Of Glitz, Glissandi and Toto, too... http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24301-of-glitz-glissandi-and-toto-too.html This season audiences have lots of gay-relevant theater to choose from. We’ve already been treated to a play featuring opera diva Maria Callas, two addressing anti-gay bullying, and one about faith. ]]> The lavender elephant in the room… http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24259-the-lavender-elephant-in-the-room%25E2%2580%25A6.html It inevitably happens. Everyone is enjoying the ambiance of some happy occasion when suddenly a noise emanates from upstairs—a slamming door perhaps, or incoherent mutterings.]]> Dressed to Thrill http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24213-dressed-to-thrill.html I love to dress up. (Can you tell?) I mean, who doesn’t like putting on a jazzy outfit now and then? Whether you like to don a sequin gown or snazzy suit; a ten-gallon]]> There goes the Gay-borhood http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24220-there-goes-the-gay-borhood.html
]]>
The LGBT Film/Video Festival http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24183-the-lgbt-film_video-festival.html
]]>
Masterson Makes It Meatier http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24166-masterson-makes-it-meatier.html If you haven’t noticed, “Hear Me Out” has expanded to include articles by my amigo Paul Masterson. Now you can turn here for neighborly advice, events of interest to]]> Theater Lovers and Drama Queens http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24137-theater-lovers-and-drama-queens.html I love theater. I don’t care if it’s a drama at the Rep or talent night at the Rusty Nail Trailer Park, I’m all about the performing arts. From William Shakespeare’s classics to Three-Finger Judy playing the spoons in the community room, I simply adore a live performance. Autumn is ripe with incredible plays, musicals,]]> October 11, National Coming Out Day...YAY!...yay...or maybe not. - YAY!...yay...or maybe not. http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24123-october-11-national-coming-out-dayyay_yayor-maybe-not-yay_yayor-maybe-not.html ]]> LGBT History Month - Historic times and our local legacy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24086-lgbt-history-month-historic-times-and-our-local-legacy.html October is officially LGBT History Month. In fact, 2014 marks its 20th anniversary. Established in 1994, LGBT History Month celebrates the chronicle of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and its struggle for identity, rights and equality. But, aside from National]]> All About That Bass http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24087-all-about-that-bass.html From toe-tapping Broadway musicals to high-energy dance clubs and from legendary torch songs to reigning pop downloads, music has always been a large part of the LGBT Community. Consider]]> ‘Out’ Theater Events - A new trend to court LGBT audiences http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24078-%25E2%2580%2598out%25E2%2580%2599-theater-events-a-new-trend-to-court-lgbt-audiences.html Affairs, Anniversaries and Apocalypses—We’ve Got It All http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24045-affairs-anniversaries-and-apocalypses%25E2%2580%2594we%25E2%2580%2599ve-got-it-all.html Maybe it’s a compulsive condition, but I’m obsessed with the letter “A” this week. Mind you, I’m not talking about my infatuation with Art Kumbalek. (You left your hat]]> Get Along Little Doggies http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24011-get-along-little-doggies.html Can’t we all just get along? In Milwaukee, we can! We’ve made great strides in how our Straight and LGBT communities treat, support and watch out for one another]]> Tackling Culinary Quarrels, Coasters and ‘Cabaret’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23939-tackling-culinary-quarrels-coasters-and-%25E2%2580%2598cabaret%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> New Month, New Attitude http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23906-new-month-new-attitude.html It’s hard to believe it’s September already, but that still means good times with good friends and plenty of good weather lie ahead. After all, Mother Nature owes us one]]> Can’t be an Athlete? Be an Athletic Supporter! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23868-can%25E2%2580%2599t-be-an-athlete-be-an-athletic-supporter_.html I love the word “support.” I really do. Support groups…support staff…support bras…you name it. It’s one of those words that sounds (and looks) like what it]]> Fashion Fever Heats Up Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23826-fashion-fever-heats-up-wisconsin.html I’ve always been considered one of Wisconsin’s top fashionistas. OK, well, I’m a top fashion diva in West Allis. Cudahy? How about my trailer park? Regardless of where I strut my insatiable stuff, fashion comes naturally to me. From my feathered hat to my jelly shoes, I consistently think outside the shoebox ]]> Ruthie’s Kennel Club http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23787-ruthie%25E2%2580%2599s-kennel-club.html

 I love animals…period. I love my doggies, Roxie and Rocco, cats fascinate me, I’ve written for birding magazines

]]>
Pooped Out Over Pride? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23742-pooped-out-over-pride.html

 If you’re anything like me (and for your sake, I hope you’re not!), then you’re not quite ready to give up on LGBT pride-related events this summer. The good news is

]]>
Beat the Heat? No Way! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23717-beat-the-heat-no-way_.html

You just can’t beat summer, can you? I don’t want to hear any crap-ola about summer being nearly over. (“Well, after July Fourth summer is about done.”) I don’t 

]]>
Summertime and the Living Is Easy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23670-summertime-and-the-living-is-easy.html

 Whether you’re into the music of up-and-coming artists, show tunes, standards or rock, there’s a lot to hear in Milwaukee this week. (And let’s be honest, who doesn’t

]]>
Picnics and Potlucks and Bears! Oh, My! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23656-picnics-and-potlucks-and-bears_-oh-my_.html

 One of the things I love about Milwaukee is that we know how to throw a helluva party…and we throw a lot of them, too! After all, PrideFest may have come and gone

]]>
Out and Exciting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23620-out-and-exciting.html

 I know, I know

]]>
Let Me Tickle Your Yankee Doodle http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23579-let-me-tickle-your-yankee-doodle.html

 Raise your flag, light someone’s sparkler and pop your rocket all over this city! It’s July Fourth in Milwaukee and that means it’s time to party! Whether you spend the holiday over a stars-and-stripes barbecue or you head Downtown to paint the town red, white and blue, there’s plenty to do this Independence Day

]]>
Summer Sun Shines Bright on this Redhead http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23546-summer-sun-shines-bright-on-this-redhead.html

 It’s hard to believe June is almost over. I don’t know about you, but I loved both days of summer this year. On the bright side Independence Day is just around the corner!

]]>