Express Milwaukee - Dear Ruthie http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-350-1-dear-ruthie.html Wed, 17 Sep 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Get Along Little Doggies http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24011-get-along-little-doggies.html Can’t we all just get along? In Milwaukee, we can! We’ve made great strides in how our Straight and LGBT communities treat, support and watch out for one another]]> Tackling Culinary Quarrels, Coasters and ‘Cabaret’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23939-tackling-culinary-quarrels-coasters-and-%25E2%2580%2598cabaret%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> New Month, New Attitude http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23906-new-month-new-attitude.html It’s hard to believe it’s September already, but that still means good times with good friends and plenty of good weather lie ahead. After all, Mother Nature owes us one]]> Can’t be an Athlete? Be an Athletic Supporter! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23868-can%25E2%2580%2599t-be-an-athlete-be-an-athletic-supporter_.html I love the word “support.” I really do. Support groups…support staff…support bras…you name it. It’s one of those words that sounds (and looks) like what it]]> Fashion Fever Heats Up Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23826-fashion-fever-heats-up-wisconsin.html I’ve always been considered one of Wisconsin’s top fashionistas. OK, well, I’m a top fashion diva in West Allis. Cudahy? How about my trailer park? Regardless of where I strut my insatiable stuff, fashion comes naturally to me. From my feathered hat to my jelly shoes, I consistently think outside the shoebox ]]> Ruthie’s Kennel Club http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23787-ruthie%25E2%2580%2599s-kennel-club.html

 I love animals…period. I love my doggies, Roxie and Rocco, cats fascinate me, I’ve written for birding magazines

]]>
Pooped Out Over Pride? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23742-pooped-out-over-pride.html

 If you’re anything like me (and for your sake, I hope you’re not!), then you’re not quite ready to give up on LGBT pride-related events this summer. The good news is

]]>
Beat the Heat? No Way! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23717-beat-the-heat-no-way_.html

You just can’t beat summer, can you? I don’t want to hear any crap-ola about summer being nearly over. (“Well, after July Fourth summer is about done.”) I don’t 

]]>
Summertime and the Living Is Easy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23670-summertime-and-the-living-is-easy.html

 Whether you’re into the music of up-and-coming artists, show tunes, standards or rock, there’s a lot to hear in Milwaukee this week. (And let’s be honest, who doesn’t

]]>
Picnics and Potlucks and Bears! Oh, My! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23656-picnics-and-potlucks-and-bears_-oh-my_.html

 One of the things I love about Milwaukee is that we know how to throw a helluva party…and we throw a lot of them, too! After all, PrideFest may have come and gone

]]>
Out and Exciting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23620-out-and-exciting.html

 I know, I know

]]>
Let Me Tickle Your Yankee Doodle http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23579-let-me-tickle-your-yankee-doodle.html

 Raise your flag, light someone’s sparkler and pop your rocket all over this city! It’s July Fourth in Milwaukee and that means it’s time to party! Whether you spend the holiday over a stars-and-stripes barbecue or you head Downtown to paint the town red, white and blue, there’s plenty to do this Independence Day

]]>
Summer Sun Shines Bright on this Redhead http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23546-summer-sun-shines-bright-on-this-redhead.html

 It’s hard to believe June is almost over. I don’t know about you, but I loved both days of summer this year. On the bright side Independence Day is just around the corner!

]]>
Bikers, Beaches and Bachelors—Ruthie Tackles Them All! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23461-bikers-beaches-and-bachelors%25E2%2580%2594ruthie-tackles-them-all_.html

 Before diving into “Hear Me Out” this week, I’d like to thank everyone for reading it. So many of you have expressed

]]>
Chubby Chasers Unite! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23428-chubby-chasers-unite_.html

 I’m not gay, but I’m familiar with coming out. I’m a chubby chaser. I like thick girls with lots of curves. The bigger the better if you ask me. People don’t get that it’s hard to “come out” about your sexual preferences and desires when they stray from the norm. I’m tired of my friends

]]>
This Broad’s Bursting with Pride http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23406-this-broad%25E2%2580%2599s-bursting-with-pride.html

 It may be June, but I feel like a little girl on Christmas morning! I’m just as excited as I was all those years ago, racing downstairs in my footie pajamas to see if Santa

]]>
Spice Up Your Week with Pre-Pride Antics http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23350-spice-up-your-week-with-pre-pride-antics.html

 Pride Month is nearly here, and if you’re anything

]]>
We’re Here! We’re Queer! We’re Thirsty! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23309-we%25E2%2580%2599re-here_-we%25E2%2580%2599re-queer_-we%25E2%2580%2599re-thirsty_.html

 Cocktails, theater, beverages, markets and drinks are on tap for this week’s social calendar…and there’s nothing wrong with that, sugar! Wanna sink your teeth into a

]]>
A Rainbow of Full-Flavored Fun for the LGBT Community http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23271-a-rainbow-of-full-flavored-fun-for-the-lgbt-community.html

 Open your mind! Open your heart! Open your legs!

]]>
Let’s Have a Spring Fling! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23230-let%25E2%2580%2599s-have-a-spring-fling_.html

 May Day may have come and gone, but spring events are bursting out all over for Milwaukee’s LGBT Community. Whether you like to dress up or drag down, keep it

]]>
Put Some Spring In Your Step http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23188-put-some-spring-in-your-step.html


]]>
Steppin' Out with the Big Wig - From Stein & Dine to Skylight’s next season http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23166-steppin-out-with-the-big-wig-from-stein-dine-to-skylight%25E2%2580%2599s-next-season.html

 Who says there’s not much to do in Milwaukee? The gays are bustin’ out with a full calendar of wild events, great shows, swanky celebrations and more. Too fancy-smancy? More of a meat-and-potatoes type? (And, who doesn’t like a good set of meat and potatoes?) Check out Stein & Dine on Saturday, April 26 at

]]>
Paint the Town Red with Ruthie http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23119-paint-the-town-red-with-ruthie.html

 A great big smooch on the pooch to everyone who offered kind words about my debut in Shepherd Express. I’m glad you like “Hear Me Out,” and I’ll do my best not to let you down. Thanks!

]]>
Mother Nature is a bitch! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23093-mother-nature-is-a-bitch_.html

 Mother Nature is a bitch! There…I said it. Sure, a woman’s prerogative is to change her mind, but this broad has taken things too far! Knock back a few PMS pills, lady, and bring us the spring we deserve. For God sakes, the other night it was so cold, all four of my nipples were hard

]]>
Take it from the Big Wig! - Ruthie tells all (and answers most of your questions) http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23034-take-it-from-the-big-wig_-ruthie-tells-all-%2528and-answers-most-of-your-questions%2529.html

 Here she is boys! Here she is world! Here’s…Ruthie! “Who the hell is Ruthie?” Let me tell ya, sugar! I’m a big-boned redhead from Milwaukee’s Southside who is happy to

]]>