Express Milwaukee - Hear Me Out http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-350-1-hear-me-out.html Sat, 20 Dec 2014 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Go Scrooge Yourself! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24555-go-scrooge-yourself_.html Feeling like a Grinch? Being a bad Santa? Take a chill pill, Ebenezer! I know the holidays aren’t for everyone, but try getting off your keester and soaking in a bit of holiday cheer. After all, Wisconsin offers]]> There’s Nothing like a Good Prod - Charitable giving for Milwaukee’s LGBT community http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24556-there%25E2%2580%2599s-nothing-like-a-good-prod-charitable-giving-for-milwaukee%25E2%2580%2599s-lgbt-community.html When Neil Giuliano, Tempe, Ariz.’s former gay mayor (he’s still gay but not currently mayor) spoke at the recent Cream City Foundations Business Lunch, he stated a remarkable and embarrassing fact: LGBT people contribute less to their own causes than straight people do. I’m sure there ]]> A Fine Line Between Naughty and Nice http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24530-a-fine-line-between-naughty-and-nice.html Are you a saintly or a sassy Santa? The LGBT community has always been one to embrace the classic sights and sounds of the season as well as nontraditional holiday fun, including scandalous Christmas parties and]]> A Star is Born... http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24531-a-star-is-born.html If you’ve never heard of Trixie Mattel, here’s the scoop. Brian Firkus, a mild-mannered professional makeup artist, as his fierce drag persona, Trixie Mattel, has just been cast on LOGO network’s reality show, “RuPaul’s Drag Race.” He will appear as one of 14 contestants in the show’s ]]> Let Me Jingle Your Bells http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24479-let-me-jingle-your-bells.html Sleigh bells ring, are ya listenin’? Well…are ya? It’s that time of year, kids. It’s the time of year where there are parties to attend, food to savor, cheer to share and drinks to, well, drink]]> Oh, Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree... http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24480-oh-christmas-tree-oh-christmas-tree.html You can tell a lot about a person by their Christmas tree...or trees. For some, it’s precisely this annual tree-decorating spree that defines who they are. We all have boxes of ornaments in the attic, some with great sentimental value, that, when displayed together, create our own personal]]> Grab Your Giblets and Gobble Up Some Lovin’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24435-grab-your-giblets-and-gobble-up-some-lovin%25E2%2580%2599.html Let’s give thanks. Why not, damn it? It’s that time of year, after all. Let’s see…what am I thankful for? Uhm, I’m thankful for my wonderfully smart, attractive and kind readers. I’m thankful for the “How to]]> World AIDS Day of Remembrance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24436-world-aids-day-of-remembrance.html It’s been three decades since the first AIDS deaths in the LGBT community. Time has changed the narrative. For one thing, those infected in the first decades are mostly gone. A generation of gay men, activists and leaders of the burgeoning liberation movement are gone. Also among the ]]> Transgender Day of Remembrance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24396-transgender-day-of-remembrance.html I first met a trans-person two decades ago. She was a friend of a friend. Demure and feminine, she was typically Milwaukee, down to the accent and a taste for brandy Manhattans. Had I not been told she was transgender, I might never have suspected. Then, a troupe of itinerant ]]> Cool Cats Blow Into Town http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24397-cool-cats-blow-into-town.html I’ve never turned down a date with a successful man, but Jack Frost simply isn’t my type. He can drift in and out of my life, but I’m giving that frosty S.O.B. the cold shoulder! Instead, I’m going to curl up with my]]> A Little Something for Everyone http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24350-a-little-something-for-everyone.html What do you like? A pleasant luncheon or a wild weekend? Spending a day planning a future with your significant other or laughing the night away with friends? Whatever ]]> Marriage Equality...now what? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24364-marriage-equalitynow-what.html Back in June, on PrideFest’s opening day and just an hour before the event’s opening ceremony, a federal judge struck down Wisconsin’s anti-gay marriage constitutional amendment. Coincidentally, American Civil Liberties Union’s Chris Ahmuty was on the dais for the opening]]> Spread Your (Right or Left) Wings and Fly http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24300-spread-your-%2528right-or-left%2529-wings-and-fly.html Deep breaths…deep breaths…Halloween in Milwaukee is over and I can finally relax. Between all the parties, special events and contests, I think I’ve had my fix of candy corn, half-naked nurse costumes]]> Of Glitz, Glissandi and Toto, too... http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24301-of-glitz-glissandi-and-toto-too.html This season audiences have lots of gay-relevant theater to choose from. We’ve already been treated to a play featuring opera diva Maria Callas, two addressing anti-gay bullying, and one about faith. ]]> The lavender elephant in the room… http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24259-the-lavender-elephant-in-the-room%25E2%2580%25A6.html It inevitably happens. Everyone is enjoying the ambiance of some happy occasion when suddenly a noise emanates from upstairs—a slamming door perhaps, or incoherent mutterings.]]> Dressed to Thrill http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24213-dressed-to-thrill.html I love to dress up. (Can you tell?) I mean, who doesn’t like putting on a jazzy outfit now and then? Whether you like to don a sequin gown or snazzy suit; a ten-gallon]]> There goes the Gay-borhood http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24220-there-goes-the-gay-borhood.html
]]>
The LGBT Film/Video Festival http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24183-the-lgbt-film_video-festival.html
]]>
Masterson Makes It Meatier http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24166-masterson-makes-it-meatier.html If you haven’t noticed, “Hear Me Out” has expanded to include articles by my amigo Paul Masterson. Now you can turn here for neighborly advice, events of interest to]]> Theater Lovers and Drama Queens http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24137-theater-lovers-and-drama-queens.html I love theater. I don’t care if it’s a drama at the Rep or talent night at the Rusty Nail Trailer Park, I’m all about the performing arts. From William Shakespeare’s classics to Three-Finger Judy playing the spoons in the community room, I simply adore a live performance. Autumn is ripe with incredible plays, musicals,]]> October 11, National Coming Out Day...YAY!...yay...or maybe not. - YAY!...yay...or maybe not. http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24123-october-11-national-coming-out-dayyay_yayor-maybe-not-yay_yayor-maybe-not.html ]]> LGBT History Month - Historic times and our local legacy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24086-lgbt-history-month-historic-times-and-our-local-legacy.html October is officially LGBT History Month. In fact, 2014 marks its 20th anniversary. Established in 1994, LGBT History Month celebrates the chronicle of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community and its struggle for identity, rights and equality. But, aside from National]]> All About That Bass http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24087-all-about-that-bass.html From toe-tapping Broadway musicals to high-energy dance clubs and from legendary torch songs to reigning pop downloads, music has always been a large part of the LGBT Community. Consider]]> ‘Out’ Theater Events - A new trend to court LGBT audiences http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24078-%25E2%2580%2598out%25E2%2580%2599-theater-events-a-new-trend-to-court-lgbt-audiences.html Affairs, Anniversaries and Apocalypses—We’ve Got It All http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24045-affairs-anniversaries-and-apocalypses%25E2%2580%2594we%25E2%2580%2599ve-got-it-all.html Maybe it’s a compulsive condition, but I’m obsessed with the letter “A” this week. Mind you, I’m not talking about my infatuation with Art Kumbalek. (You left your hat]]> Get Along Little Doggies http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24011-get-along-little-doggies.html Can’t we all just get along? In Milwaukee, we can! We’ve made great strides in how our Straight and LGBT communities treat, support and watch out for one another]]> Tackling Culinary Quarrels, Coasters and ‘Cabaret’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23939-tackling-culinary-quarrels-coasters-and-%25E2%2580%2598cabaret%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> New Month, New Attitude http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23906-new-month-new-attitude.html It’s hard to believe it’s September already, but that still means good times with good friends and plenty of good weather lie ahead. After all, Mother Nature owes us one]]> Can’t be an Athlete? Be an Athletic Supporter! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23868-can%25E2%2580%2599t-be-an-athlete-be-an-athletic-supporter_.html I love the word “support.” I really do. Support groups…support staff…support bras…you name it. It’s one of those words that sounds (and looks) like what it]]> Fashion Fever Heats Up Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23826-fashion-fever-heats-up-wisconsin.html I’ve always been considered one of Wisconsin’s top fashionistas. OK, well, I’m a top fashion diva in West Allis. Cudahy? How about my trailer park? Regardless of where I strut my insatiable stuff, fashion comes naturally to me. From my feathered hat to my jelly shoes, I consistently think outside the shoebox ]]>