Express Milwaukee - Music Feature http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-326-1-music-feature.html Sat, 31 Jan 2015 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Cold War Kids Find Solace in Simply Doing http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24797-cold-war-kids-find-solace-in-simply-doing.html
]]>
Jamie Breiwick’s Dreamland Considers the Mysteries of Monk http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24755-jamie-breiwick%25E2%2580%2599s-dreamland-considers-the-mysteries-of-monk.html
]]>
Wale is Done with the Radio http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24718-wale-is-done-with-the-radio.html ]]> The Borg Ward Hosts a Daylong Girls Rock Milwaukee Benefit http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24686-the-borg-ward-hosts-a-daylong-girls-rock-milwaukee-benefit.html ]]> Racine and Kenosha’s Best Bands are Led by Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24649-racine-and-kenosha%25E2%2580%2599s-best-bands-are-led-by-women.html ]]> Milwaukee’s 2015 New Year’s Eve Guide http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24620-milwaukee%25E2%2580%2599s-2015-new-year%25E2%2580%2599s-eve-guide.html ]]> Chevelle Keep Progressing on ‘La Gargola’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24553-chevelle-keep-progressing-on-%25E2%2580%2598la-gargola%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> Fall Out Boy’s Fortuitous Second Chance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24508-fall-out-boy%25E2%2580%2599s-fortuitous-second-chance.html ]]> The Essential Milwaukee Albums of 2014 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24473-the-essential-milwaukee-albums-of-2014.html ]]> Cage the Elephant Conquer Expectations on “Melophobia” http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24444-cage-the-elephant-conquer-expectations-on-%25E2%2580%259Cmelophobia%25E2%2580%259D.html ]]> Title1 - subtitle1 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24418-title1-subtitle1.html Arctic Sleep’s Melancholy Metal Album http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24394-arctic-sleep%25E2%2580%2599s-melancholy-metal-album.html ]]> Resolved: The New Pornographers Are Not an Indie Supergroup http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24353-resolved-the-new-pornographers-are-not-an-indie-supergroup.html
]]>
25 Years of Shank Hall - Peter Jest on the secrets of his club’s longevity http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24324-25-years-of-shank-hall-peter-jest-on-the-secrets-of-his-club%25E2%2580%2599s-longevity.html
]]>
Volunteer Pick Up Some New Tricks http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24261-volunteer-pick-up-some-new-tricks.html Goner, the new 10-inch EP by the Milwaukee trio Volunteer, is getting some attention because of a recent endorsement ]]> Reigning Sound’s Soulful Turn http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24222-reigning-sound%25E2%2580%2599s-soulful-turn.html Reigning Sound leader Greg Cartwright is only still in photos]]> Interpreting Patti Smith http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24164-interpreting-patti-smith.html Of all the great songwriters of the last half century, Patti Smith is one of the most unknowable. That’s not because Smith is particularly private or her work is evasive or]]> Bastille Rides ‘Pompeii’ to the Top http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24165-bastille-rides-%25E2%2580%2598pompeii%25E2%2580%2599-to-the-top.html
]]>
OK Go’s Multi-Media Assault
 http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24132-ok-go%25E2%2580%2599s-multi-media-assault%25E2%2580%25A8.html
]]>
The Wood Brothers Mix It Up http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24108-the-wood-brothers-mix-it-up.html
]]>
The Legacy of 7 Angels 7 Plagues http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24070-the-legacy-of-7-angels-7-plagues.html
]]>
Iron and Wine’s Ever-Growing Vision http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24003-iron-and-wine%25E2%2580%2599s-ever-growing-vision.html
]]>
An Expanded Spoon http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23954-an-expanded-spoon.html After going more than four years without releasing a studio album, Spoon returned as something of a new band, at least where their lineup is concerned. The band ha ]]> Influenced: Eric Blowtorch on Learning to Respect the Beastie Boys http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23941-influenced-eric-blowtorch-on-learning-to-respect-the-beastie-boys.html In Influenced, we talk to Milwaukee musicians about the artists that shaped and inspired them, both as performers and listeners.Eric “Blowtorch” Beaumont has been a fixture in the Milwaukee music]]> The Midwest Beat Keep it Casual http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23921-the-midwest-beat-keep-it-casual.html The Midwest Beat singer/guitarist Matt Joyce has always had a fondness for ragged, rough-around-the-edges records. “One of my all-time favorites is Neil Young’s]]> Old Earth’s Homemade, Collaborative Folk http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23861-old-earth%25E2%2580%2599s-homemade-collaborative-folk.html For Old Earth’s Todd Umhoefer, songwriting is a long, continuous process. By Umhoefer’s estimate, he spends some 45 or 50 hours]]> Jeff Bridges on His Lifelong Passion for Music http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23833-jeff-bridges-on-his-lifelong-passion-for-music.html Jeff Bridges will always be best known as an actor, iconic for his roles in films including The Fischer King, Tron, True Grit and the Coen Brothers’1998 cult comedy The Big Lebowski]]> Influenced: Body Futures on Genesis and Faith No More http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23829-influenced-body-futures-on-genesis-and-faith-no-more.html With a lineup of current and former members of White Wrench Conservatory, The Five Mod Four and IfIHadAHifi, Body Futures are eclectic, to say the least. For this edition of Influenced, we sat down and talked with vocalist, autoharp and keyboard player Dixie Jacobs and drummer D.J. Hostettler about not one, but two of their biggest musical influences: Genesis and the equally eclectic Faith No More. ]]> The Sounds of Irish Fest http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23811-the-sounds-of-irish-fest.html One of America’s first major celebrations of Celtic culture, Irish Fest was ahead of its time when it premiered in 1981. In the decades since, similar festivals have popped up around the country, spurred by the surging popularity of Irish dance and Celtic music, but Milwaukee’s]]> Strand of Oaks Finds Honesty in Volume http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23803-strand-of-oaks-finds-honesty-in-volume.html When Timothy Showalter decided to title his latest Strand of Oaks album HEAL, he didn’t type it in all caps as a gimmick. That title is a mission statement, a command to strip away all artificiality]]>