Express Milwaukee - Local Pride http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-321-1-local-pride.html Wed, 17 Sep 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Beauty and Nature Indoors: The Mitchell Park Domes http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20296-beauty-and-nature-indoors-the-mitchell-park-domes.html The Mitchell Park Conservatory—also known as “The Domes”—was built at Mitchell Park on Milwaukee’s west side. Mitchell Park was the earliest formally named parks in the city, and the land was purchased in 1889. The first]]> Famous Milwaukeeans: Mathilde Anneke http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20261-famous-milwaukeeans-mathilde-anneke.html Built over many generations by visionaries, dreamers]]> A New Milwaukee Tradition: Lakefront Brewery http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20191-a-new-milwaukee-tradition-lakefront-brewery.html Bay View, Riverwest, the East Side—these Milwaukee neighborhoods also have another thing in common besides geographical location—they all have Lakefront Brewery beers named after them. In addition to Bay View Brown]]> A Light Emerges from the Dark: The North Point Lighthouse http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20135-a-light-emerges-from-the-dark-the-north-point-lighthouse.html The North Point Lighthouse’s single, bright light—a beacon in the night—guided many ships
]]>
An Artful, Historic Home: The Charles Allis Art Museum http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20100-an-artful-historic-home-the-charles-allis-art-museum.html

 Nineteenth-century American and French paintings, Renaissance bronzes, Chinese and Japanese porcelains and antique period furniture—these and many more pieces are included in the Charles Allis Art Museum’s permanent

]]>
Baseball, Business and Nature: The Hank Aaron State Trail http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20061-baseball-business-and-nature-the-hank-aaron-state-trail.html Walk, run or bike—see the Menomonee River, plants, animals and native flowers on the Hank Aaron State Trail. Follow the trail as it winds along the Menomonee River and see many Milwaukee landmarks. This trail provides...]]> How Did Schlitz Beer Make Milwaukee Famous? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20028-how-did-schlitz-beer-make-milwaukee-famous.html


]]>
Turn of the Century Luxury: The Pfister Hotel http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19988-turn-of-the-century-luxury-the-pfister-hotel.html Sparkling chandeliers, Victorian art, lavish food and drink, and the finest textiles in the city: These are the sights one would have seen upon entering the Pfister Hotel at the turn of the 20th century...]]> And They’re Off: The Klement’s Racing Sausages http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19933-and-they%25E2%2580%2599re-off-the-klement%25E2%2580%2599s-racing-sausages.html Polish, Italian, hot dog, bratwurst and chorizo—here in Wisconsin, they all make tasty treats on the grill. Whether cooked in your backyard or at a stadium tailgate party, these sausages are a local staple...]]> It’s a Jungle Out There: The Milwaukee County Zoo http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19904-it%25E2%2580%2599s-a-jungle-out-there-the-milwaukee-county-zoo.html

 Lions and tigers and bears, oh my! These and many other species of animals can be found at the Milwaukee County Zoo. Growing from humble beginnings, the Milwaukee County Zoo has been a delight...

]]>
Greendale: A Planned Community in the Great Depression http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19858-greendale-a-planned-community-in-the-great-depression.html Combining city and nature—affordable homes, ample parks and gardens, schools and commercial centers...]]> Once a Pile of Ashes: The Pabst Theater http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19825-once-a-pile-of-ashes-the-pabst-theater.html


]]>
Milwaukee's 'Central Park' http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19787-milwaukees-central-park.html Take a stroll, view a lighthouse, play golf and visit an Indian mound—these are all activities that can be enjoyed in one famous Milwaukee County park. Along the shores of Lake Michigan on...]]> Bernie Brewer: The Mascot With the Moustache http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19717-bernie-brewer-the-mascot-with-the-moustache.html Fireworks explode! The crowd cheers! ]]> Streets of Old Milwaukee: A Museum Favorite http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19646-streets-of-old-milwaukee-a-museum-favorite.html Strolling down Milwaukee's paved...]]> Cinematic Magic: The Oriental Theatre http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19584-cinematic-magic-the-oriental-theatre.html Popcorn and toilet paper: Don't be surprised if you see either of these items flying at the movie screens at the Oriental Theatre. Whether it's a screening of the interactive...]]> Cream Puffs Galore: The Many Years of the Wisconsin State Fair http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19523-cream-puffs-galore-the-many-years-of-the-wisconsin-state-fair.html The Wisconsin State Fair might be best known for its staple treat, cream puffs—two pieces of pastry stuffed with fluffy, white cream. Beyond the...]]> A Bridge to Nowhere? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19461-a-bridge-to-nowhere.html Drivers heading north on the Hoan Bridge can catch a wonderful view of Downtown Milwaukee. The Hoan Bridge...]]> Fighting for Workers' Rights: The Bay View Massacre http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19397-fighting-for-workers-rights-the-bay-view-massacre.html Imagine returning home from work dirty, sore and exhausted after a 15-hour day. That's how it went after the Industrial Revolution in the United States. Men, women and children worked long days—sometimes every day of the week...]]> Gardening for Relief: World War II Victory Gardens http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19344-gardening-for-relief-world-war-ii-victory-gardens.html Bright orange carrots, big white potatoes and dark green kale are a few of the vegetables that could be seen growing in yards around Milwaukee during WWII. Many residents, urban and rural, converted everyday spaces into bountiful...]]> A War Over Bridges: From Three Towns to One Milwaukee http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19274-a-war-over-bridges-from-three-towns-to-one-milwaukee.html While traveling through Milwaukee's Downtown, you may see street signs for Kilbourn Avenue, Juneau Avenue or Walker Street. These city streets are named after some of Milwaukee's early entrepreneurs. However, before Milwaukee was founded...]]> Where Do You Get the 'Ribbon' in 'Pabst Blue Ribbon'? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19208-where-do-you-get-the-ribbon-in-pabst-blue-ribbon.html While walking around Milwaukee this summer, you are likely to see someone wearing a “PBR” logo or spot a poster for the annual Pabst street festival in Bay View. Or—most obviously—you'll see...]]> From Airplanes to Missiles to Summerfest? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19107-from-airplanes-to-missiles-to-summerfest.html When we think of Milwaukee, some of the things that come to mind are Lake Michigan, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Summerfest, Klement's Sausage and Brewers baseball. But what are the hidden stories behind these Milwaukee institutions?]]>