Express Milwaukee - Taking Liberties http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-3-1-taking-liberties.html Thu, 24 Jul 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 The Republican Voter Fraud Coverup http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23692-the-republican-voter-fraud-coverup.html

 Complaints about political bias in the media, except for the well-earned ones against Fox News, usually come from partisans who are simply upset when the media report something true that

]]>
GOP Gets Tough with Refugee Children http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23658-gop-gets-tough-with-refugee-children.html

 Brown children are coming! Brown children are coming! Run for your lives! If we all were the decent people we claim to be, the only reaction to tens of thousands of very

]]>
Hating Hillary and Other Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23619-hating-hillary-and-other-women.html

 Republicans don’t see any reason to wait around until 2016 for the next presidential election to start insulting Hillary Clinton and

]]>
How the Bucks Could Change Milwaukee http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23582-how-the-bucks-could-change-milwaukee.html

Being responsible for the entire future of NBA basketball in Milwaukee is a lot to put on the shoulders of even an outstanding young player like Jabari Parker, but, believe it or not

]]>
Right-Wing Tiger Eats Scott Walker http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23547-right-wing-tiger-eats-scott-walker.html President John F. Kennedy warned emerging foreign leaders about turning to political tyranny, saying: “Those who foolishly sought power by riding the back of the tiger ended up inside]]> Marriage Equality Week in Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23510-marriage-equality-week-in-wisconsin.html Marriage Equality Week in Wisconsin turned out to be an enormous success. Whenever we take an historic step toward]]> The Slender Man Stabbings and the Mind of a 12-Year-Old http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23439-the-slender-man-stabbings-and-the-mind-of-a-12-year-old.html

 Horrific details of the alleged attempted murder of a classmate by two Waukesha middle school girls were bound to make

]]>
The Quarter Century Con of Vouchers http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23403-the-quarter-century-con-of-vouchers.html

 It’s taken a quarter of a century, but Republican taxpayers around the state and some of their representatives are finally starting to realize they’ve been...

]]>
The Republicans’ Magic Slate http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23362-the-republicans%25E2%2580%2599-magic-slate.html

 What do Wisconsin Republicans really believe? Be careful before you answer. The answer apparently can change as quickly as

]]>
Free Speech for Billionaires http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23326-free-speech-for-billionaires.html

 If corporations are people, my friend, why can’t we incarcerate the entire corporation of General Motors for covering

]]>
Wars Within Wars in Divided Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23284-wars-within-wars-in-divided-wisconsin.html

Conventional wisdom says Democrats don’t have much chance for success in the statewide legislative elections in November. The great thing about conventional wisdom is it’s so often so

]]>
Our Lawless Republican Sheriff Clarke http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23250-our-lawless-republican-sheriff-clarke.html The state Republican Party spent its recent convention frantically trying to hide its craziest, most wild-eyed members who were crusading for Wisconsin’s right]]> The Special Privileges of Being Black http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23219-the-special-privileges-of-being-black.html

 Back when I was in college, someone actually recorded a darkly humorous, satirical song that opened with the absurd phrase: “I wish I were a Negro

]]>
The Myth of Disappearing Moderates http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23176-the-myth-of-disappearing-moderates.html

 When a party’s political appeal is based primarily on extreme right-wing positions, it’s amusing to watch leaders try to explain why some extreme right-wing positions are

]]>
Republican Ideas Wreck the Economy, But Still Popular http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23136-republican-ideas-wreck-the-economy-but-still-popular.html

 To any thoughtful observer of politics, one of the biggest frustrations is watching is just how politically

]]>
Basketball Smoke Dreams http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23100-basketball-smoke-dreams.html Everybody goes a little basketball crazy during the NCAA tournament, but some of the talk around basketball in Milwaukee these days]]> Encourage Good Students, Don’t Censor Them http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23032-encourage-good-students-don%25E2%2580%2599t-censor-them.html

 Because the loudest critics of education don’t really like either teachers or kids very much, those two groups usually receive the most

]]>
Love and Hate at the Ballpark http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22973-love-and-hate-at-the-ballpark.html

 The start of baseball season with every team tied for first place used to be the time when Milwaukee Brewers fans could put everything out of their minds other than their

]]>
Republicans Against Democracy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22869-republicans-against-democracy.html

 Remember community Get Out The Vote campaigns? Those were the days. Although most of the warm memories folks have as they get older, in which everything

]]>
Paul Ryan’s Lunch Bag Lie http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22790-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-lunch-bag-lie.html

 Until his fundamental dishonesty was exposed in a national campaign, Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan had an undeserved reputation among gullible members of the media as a bright, young

]]>
Walker's Tax-Cut Plan Will Make Pothole Problem Worse http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22762-walkers-tax-cut-plan-will-make-pothole-problem-worse.html

 Suddenly, in Milwaukee and across much of the country, one totally mundane, down-to-earth, common-as-dirt topic seems to be crowding out all those contrived

]]>
Walker’s New Campaign Slogan: http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22727-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-new-campaign-slogan.html

 “Never Been Indicted!” is not a very strong campaign

]]>
The Fight for a Living Wage http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22681-the-fight-for-a-living-wage.html

 We’ve seen enough hard times recently to know unemployment can lead to a life of poverty. But what kind of country are we living in when full-time workers also live in poverty?

]]>
Defacing Our Constitution with Anti-LGBT Bigotry http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22640-defacing-our-constitution-with-anti-lgbt-bigotry.html

 Drunken sailors, lovesick teenagers and right-wing politicians probably shouldn’t be allowed to get tattoos or pass constitutional amendments. What seems like a slick

]]>
Obama in Tea Party’s Waukesha County http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22610-obama-in-tea-party%25E2%2580%2599s-waukesha-county.html

 What in the world was President Barack Obama doing two days after his State of the Union address braving the wilds of Waukesha County, one of America’s most virulent centers of

]]>
Collateral Damage from Walker’s Speech http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22568-collateral-damage-from-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-speech.html

 Pre-election state-of-the-state speeches by governors are even more dishonest than they are in other years. In Republican Gov. Scott Walker’s speech, he pretended Wisconsin’s job creation

]]>
Seven-Day Workweek Is a Slave Driver’s Dream http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22540-seven-day-workweek-is-a-slave-driver%25E2%2580%2599s-dream.html

 I have seen the future of employment in Wisconsin that Gov. Scott Walker and legislative Republicans dream about when they nod off to sleep with visions of non-union sugarplums

]]>
Ron Johnson vs. Health Care http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22492-ron-johnson-vs-health-care.html The most surprising thing to most state residents about Wisconsin Sen. Ron Johnson filing a lawsuit against Obamacare is that the Republican senator is doing anything at all]]> Paul Ryan’s Budget Cuts Target Veterans and Unemployed http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22455-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-budget-cuts-target-veterans-and-unemployed.html

 It was bound to happen. With Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan stubbornly—and incorrectly—insisting government has to reduce spending for absolutely everything, eventually his vicious cuts were going to become too much even for many Republicans

]]>
Scott Walker's Scariest Tax Plan Yet http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22426-scott-walkers-scariest-tax-plan-yet.html

 If you thought Republican Gov. Scott Walker’s destruction of bargaining rights for public employees was politically and economically devastating for Wisconsin, you ain’t seen nothing yet

]]>