Express Milwaukee - Taking Liberties http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-3-1-taking-liberties.html Sun, 01 Feb 2015 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Scott Walker’s Drug-Testing Publicity Stunt http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24800-scott-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-drug-testing-publicity-stunt.html
]]>
The Explosive Numbers on Walker’s Taxes http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24759-the-explosive-numbers-on-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-taxes.html
]]>
Punishing Good Citizenship and Energy Efficiency http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24721-punishing-good-citizenship-and-energy-efficiency.html
]]>
The War Over Walker http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24681-the-war-over-walker.html Republican Gov. Scott Walker probably thinks it’s good for his sugar plum visions of running for president that Wisconsin has caught the attention of political reporters around the country. He’s]]> How To Be Politically Optimistic http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24656-how-to-be-politically-optimistic.html
]]>
The No-Surprise DA’s Decision on the Dontre Hamilton Shooting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24625-the-no-surprise-da%25E2%2580%2599s-decision-on-the-dontre-hamilton-shooting.html ]]> Why the GOP Is Attacking the Elections Watchdog http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24561-why-the-gop-is-attacking-the-elections-watchdog.html
]]>
Republican Serial Killers on the Loose http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24524-republican-serial-killers-on-the-loose.html
]]>
Cruelty and Women’s Health http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24486-cruelty-and-women%25E2%2580%2599s-health.html
]]>
A Prayer for Deer Hunting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24449-a-prayer-for-deer-hunting.html
]]>
Robin Vos Commits a Flagrant Political Foul http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24401-robin-vos-commits-a-flagrant-political-foul.html
]]>
Election 2014: The Big Picture http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24358-election-2014-the-big-picture.html
]]>
For Police, Times Finally Are A-Changin’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24317-for-police-times-finally-are-a-changin%25E2%2580%2599.html
]]>
Covering Up Real Political Facts http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24265-covering-up-real-political-facts.html The standard election story today is reported as a he-said-she-said story]]> What I Like About Scott Walker http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24230-what-i-like-about-scott-walker.html What I like most about Scott Walker, unfortunately, also happens to be what makes him most dangerous]]> Walker Blames Victims for His Jobs Failure http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24175-walker-blames-victims-for-his-jobs-failure.html
]]>
Walker Drug-Testing Proposal Relies on Racist Stereotypes http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24142-walker-drug-testing-proposal-relies-on-racist-stereotypes.html
]]>
The Brewers’ Failure Totally Explained http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24094-the-brewers%25E2%2580%2599-failure-totally-explained.html
]]>
An Absurd Charge of Plagiarism http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24073-an-absurd-charge-of-plagiarism.html
]]>
Why Walker Is Limping into the November Election http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24019-why-walker-is-limping-into-the-november-election.html ]]> Political Violence Against Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23968-political-violence-against-women.html How do you tell the difference between real people and politicians? That’s easy. Real people care about real things that are done to real people]]> Paul Ryan’s Phony Plan to End Poverty http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23928-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-phony-plan-to-end-poverty.html No one would ever seriously expect a right-wing Republican like Wisconsin U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan to come up with any rational solutions about how to help people in poverty]]> Walker’s Wisconsin Is Drowning in Corruption http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23869-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-wisconsin-is-drowning-in-corruption.html No one knows for certain who discovered water, but we can be pretty sure it wasn’t a fish. When you’re completely immersed in something, it can be impossible to see it]]> Sheriff Clarke’s a Danger to the Community http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23836-sheriff-clarke%25E2%2580%2599s-a-danger-to-the-community.html Much has been said about how stunning Milwaukee County Sheriff David Clarke’s Democratic primary victory was and how it sets him up to run for any public office]]> A Big Boot Drops on Police Misconduct http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23799-a-big-boot-drops-on-police-misconduct.html One of the greatest inequities tolerated in urban America has been the white community’s acceptance of the totally unacceptable ways that the police treat people ]]> The Death of a Local Newspaper http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23766-the-death-of-a-local-newspaper.html

 Perhaps surprising today, when I came to the Milwaukee Journal from the Chicago Tribune in 1968, there was no question I was moving up

]]>
Ron Johnson vs. Democracy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23733-ron-johnson-vs-democracy.html

 We hear a lot about the destructive effect of dishonest, negative attack ads in politics. But one of the most destructive political ad campaigns in Wisconsin history actually was the positive, upbeat

]]>
The Republican Voter Fraud Coverup http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23692-the-republican-voter-fraud-coverup.html

 Complaints about political bias in the media, except for the well-earned ones against Fox News, usually come from partisans who are simply upset when the media report something true that

]]>
GOP Gets Tough with Refugee Children http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23658-gop-gets-tough-with-refugee-children.html

 Brown children are coming! Brown children are coming! Run for your lives! If we all were the decent people we claim to be, the only reaction to tens of thousands of very

]]>
Hating Hillary and Other Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23619-hating-hillary-and-other-women.html

 Republicans don’t see any reason to wait around until 2016 for the next presidential election to start insulting Hillary Clinton and

]]>