Express Milwaukee - Taking Liberties http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-3-1-taking-liberties.html Sun, 21 Sep 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Why Walker Is Limping into the November Election http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24019-why-walker-is-limping-into-the-november-election.html ]]> Political Violence Against Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23968-political-violence-against-women.html How do you tell the difference between real people and politicians? That’s easy. Real people care about real things that are done to real people]]> Paul Ryan’s Phony Plan to End Poverty http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23928-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-phony-plan-to-end-poverty.html No one would ever seriously expect a right-wing Republican like Wisconsin U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan to come up with any rational solutions about how to help people in poverty]]> Walker’s Wisconsin Is Drowning in Corruption http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23869-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-wisconsin-is-drowning-in-corruption.html No one knows for certain who discovered water, but we can be pretty sure it wasn’t a fish. When you’re completely immersed in something, it can be impossible to see it]]> Sheriff Clarke’s a Danger to the Community http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23836-sheriff-clarke%25E2%2580%2599s-a-danger-to-the-community.html Much has been said about how stunning Milwaukee County Sheriff David Clarke’s Democratic primary victory was and how it sets him up to run for any public office]]> A Big Boot Drops on Police Misconduct http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23799-a-big-boot-drops-on-police-misconduct.html One of the greatest inequities tolerated in urban America has been the white community’s acceptance of the totally unacceptable ways that the police treat people ]]> The Death of a Local Newspaper http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23766-the-death-of-a-local-newspaper.html

 Perhaps surprising today, when I came to the Milwaukee Journal from the Chicago Tribune in 1968, there was no question I was moving up

]]>
Ron Johnson vs. Democracy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23733-ron-johnson-vs-democracy.html

 We hear a lot about the destructive effect of dishonest, negative attack ads in politics. But one of the most destructive political ad campaigns in Wisconsin history actually was the positive, upbeat

]]>
The Republican Voter Fraud Coverup http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23692-the-republican-voter-fraud-coverup.html

 Complaints about political bias in the media, except for the well-earned ones against Fox News, usually come from partisans who are simply upset when the media report something true that

]]>
GOP Gets Tough with Refugee Children http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23658-gop-gets-tough-with-refugee-children.html

 Brown children are coming! Brown children are coming! Run for your lives! If we all were the decent people we claim to be, the only reaction to tens of thousands of very

]]>
Hating Hillary and Other Women http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23619-hating-hillary-and-other-women.html

 Republicans don’t see any reason to wait around until 2016 for the next presidential election to start insulting Hillary Clinton and

]]>
How the Bucks Could Change Milwaukee http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23582-how-the-bucks-could-change-milwaukee.html

Being responsible for the entire future of NBA basketball in Milwaukee is a lot to put on the shoulders of even an outstanding young player like Jabari Parker, but, believe it or not

]]>
Right-Wing Tiger Eats Scott Walker http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23547-right-wing-tiger-eats-scott-walker.html President John F. Kennedy warned emerging foreign leaders about turning to political tyranny, saying: “Those who foolishly sought power by riding the back of the tiger ended up inside]]> Marriage Equality Week in Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23510-marriage-equality-week-in-wisconsin.html Marriage Equality Week in Wisconsin turned out to be an enormous success. Whenever we take an historic step toward]]> The Slender Man Stabbings and the Mind of a 12-Year-Old http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23439-the-slender-man-stabbings-and-the-mind-of-a-12-year-old.html

 Horrific details of the alleged attempted murder of a classmate by two Waukesha middle school girls were bound to make

]]>
The Quarter Century Con of Vouchers http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23403-the-quarter-century-con-of-vouchers.html

 It’s taken a quarter of a century, but Republican taxpayers around the state and some of their representatives are finally starting to realize they’ve been...

]]>
The Republicans’ Magic Slate http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23362-the-republicans%25E2%2580%2599-magic-slate.html

 What do Wisconsin Republicans really believe? Be careful before you answer. The answer apparently can change as quickly as

]]>
Free Speech for Billionaires http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23326-free-speech-for-billionaires.html

 If corporations are people, my friend, why can’t we incarcerate the entire corporation of General Motors for covering

]]>
Wars Within Wars in Divided Wisconsin http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23284-wars-within-wars-in-divided-wisconsin.html

Conventional wisdom says Democrats don’t have much chance for success in the statewide legislative elections in November. The great thing about conventional wisdom is it’s so often so

]]>
Our Lawless Republican Sheriff Clarke http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23250-our-lawless-republican-sheriff-clarke.html The state Republican Party spent its recent convention frantically trying to hide its craziest, most wild-eyed members who were crusading for Wisconsin’s right]]> The Special Privileges of Being Black http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23219-the-special-privileges-of-being-black.html

 Back when I was in college, someone actually recorded a darkly humorous, satirical song that opened with the absurd phrase: “I wish I were a Negro

]]>
The Myth of Disappearing Moderates http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23176-the-myth-of-disappearing-moderates.html

 When a party’s political appeal is based primarily on extreme right-wing positions, it’s amusing to watch leaders try to explain why some extreme right-wing positions are

]]>
Republican Ideas Wreck the Economy, But Still Popular http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23136-republican-ideas-wreck-the-economy-but-still-popular.html

 To any thoughtful observer of politics, one of the biggest frustrations is watching is just how politically

]]>
Basketball Smoke Dreams http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23100-basketball-smoke-dreams.html Everybody goes a little basketball crazy during the NCAA tournament, but some of the talk around basketball in Milwaukee these days]]> Encourage Good Students, Don’t Censor Them http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23032-encourage-good-students-don%25E2%2580%2599t-censor-them.html

 Because the loudest critics of education don’t really like either teachers or kids very much, those two groups usually receive the most

]]>
Love and Hate at the Ballpark http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22973-love-and-hate-at-the-ballpark.html

 The start of baseball season with every team tied for first place used to be the time when Milwaukee Brewers fans could put everything out of their minds other than their

]]>
Republicans Against Democracy http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22869-republicans-against-democracy.html

 Remember community Get Out The Vote campaigns? Those were the days. Although most of the warm memories folks have as they get older, in which everything

]]>
Paul Ryan’s Lunch Bag Lie http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22790-paul-ryan%25E2%2580%2599s-lunch-bag-lie.html

 Until his fundamental dishonesty was exposed in a national campaign, Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan had an undeserved reputation among gullible members of the media as a bright, young

]]>
Walker's Tax-Cut Plan Will Make Pothole Problem Worse http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22762-walkers-tax-cut-plan-will-make-pothole-problem-worse.html

 Suddenly, in Milwaukee and across much of the country, one totally mundane, down-to-earth, common-as-dirt topic seems to be crowding out all those contrived

]]>
Walker’s New Campaign Slogan: http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-22727-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-new-campaign-slogan.html

 “Never Been Indicted!” is not a very strong campaign

]]>