Express Milwaukee - test import http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-252-1-test-import.html Sun, 21 Dec 2014 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Regan runs again - romises change in sheriff’s office http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24172-regan-runs-again-romises-change-in-sheriff%25E2%2580%2599s-office.html A write-in candidate for Sangamon County sheriff is hoping to take advantage of an apparent split in the Republican Party that has two candidates competing for the post in the upcoming GOP primary. “I think that there’s an opportunity for our cam]]> Test Article http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-21310-test-article.html  This page is for testing issues.]]> bullet points and block quotes http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19869-bullet-points-and-block-tes.html test formatting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-19824-test-formatting.html News &Views http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2955-news-views.html That figure could turn into a budget-bust ing $350 million as state corporations ask for tax rebates. State taxpayers will have to pick up the tab. The ruling represents a triumph for WMC, which was instrumental in electing Ziegler to the state Supreme Court and Van Hollen to the position of state attorney general.]]> WMC continued from previous page http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2956-wmc-continued-from-previous-page.html Milwaukee Unity Caucus Hits the Streets http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2957-milwaukee-unity-caucus-hits-the-streets.html Think You Know John McCain? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2958-think-you-know-john-mccain.html What Do You Say? http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2959-what-do-you-say.html Expresso http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2960-expresso.html Iowans worked together after the recent floods to aid friends, neighbors and strangers. Surely they can work together—humanely and sanely—to pre vent businessmen from manipulating and exploiting uneducated immigrants.]]> Short Orders http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2961-short-orders.html One of my favorite Mexican foods is camarones a la diabla—the devil’s shrimp. In theory means shrimp in a fiendishly spicy red pepper sauce, but even in Mexico the level of spicing varies considerably. A simple beachside restaurant at Zihuatanejo served camarones lived up to this fiery reputation.]]> EAT/DRINK http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2962-eat_drink.html The doors may be closed for the season, but the ovens at Amaranth Bakery Cafe certainly won’t be growing cold this summer.]]> A&E http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2963-ae.html Controversial comedian Bill Maher, whose digs can strike the funny bone while hitting a nerve, wants to stimulate critical thinking through the gateway of humor. The fearless if not ruthless cynic, host of HBO’s Emmy-nominated series “Real Time,” will perform at the Riverside Theater on Thursday, July 24.]]> The Joker’s Wild http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2964-the-joker%25E2%2580%2599s-wild.html Poor Christian Bale never has a chance. As Batman (or “the Batman” as he’s often called in a nod to the earliest comic strips), he is left to brood heavily under his kinky black leather mask. The screen belongs to Ledger’s Joker, even if the streets of Gotham are up for grabs.]]> Theater http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2965-theater.html One of two Insurgent Theatre shows to open at the Alchemist Theatre this past weekend, Rex Winsome’s Paint the Town plays out like some grim fairy tale of modern revolution.]]> Theater Preview http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2966-theater-preview.html Art Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2967-art-review.html Asublime new exhibit, “Moulthrop Generations: Turned Wood Bowls by Ed, Philip and Matt Moulthrop,” arrives at the Racine Art Museum, the first venue to show the work of three generations of the Moulthrop family in one gallery.]]> Art Preview http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2968-art-preview.html Starting July 25 at 6 p.m., the walls of Peltz’s vintage Victorian building will be covered what gallery owner Cissie Peltz describes as “feminine splendor.” Peltz hosts its 18th annual “Remarkable Women Show,” which includes more than 35 artists from across nation.]]> Book Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-2969-book-review.html To fall into the clutches of the Soviet Union’s system of arrest, imprisonment and torture was infamously easy for Americans who entered the nation from the 1930s to the 1950s. To get out was well-nigh impossible—short of death—and little help was to be found from U.]]>