Express Milwaukee - Classical Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-24-1-classical-review.html Tue, 02 Sep 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 Prometheus Trio Continues to Explore http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-20019-prometheus-trio-continues-to-explore.html I have always admired the continuing exploration of literature that is a fundamental aspect of the Prometheus Trio. Over the years I have heard quite a bit of music on their concerts never before encountered. Such was the case with Frank Bridge’s Trio...]]> MSO’s Ilana Setapen Stands Out http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-13969-msorss-ilana-setapen-stands-out.html I knew violinist Ilana Setapen was good. I had heard her in recital and in chamber music. But I didn’t realize how wonderfully and exceptionally good she is until hearing her play Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto with Milwaukee Symphony last Saturday night. Setapen is associate concertmaster of the orchestra. I would guess that there are few...]]> Beautiful Breakable Toys - Present Music with Margaret Leng Tan http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-13521-beautiful-breakable-toys-present-music-with-margaret-leng-tan.html Margaret Leng Tan, the world’s first toy piano virtuoso, was the star of Present Music’s concert “Toys!” She was perfectly accompanied by the Present Music string ensemble...]]> ‘Shining Stars’ Highlight Philharmonic Concert - Classical Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-10794-lsshining-starsrs-highlight-philharmonic-concert-classical-review.html The Sound of Tango http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-4033-the-sound-of-tango.html Piano Debut http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-3890-piano-debut.html Two seasons ago Vladimir Feltsman commented negatively about the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra Steinway and urged its replacement on a live local public television broadcast. That concert was re-broadcast, and apparently eventually led to the donors' gift of a new piano. The old MSO Steinway has a resonant ring, but also a loose rattle and unevenness. It was time to move on. ]]> More Mozart - Classical Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-864-more-mozart-classical-review.html The snowstorm last week forced a cancelled rehearsal of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, and prevented the arrival of the guest soloist, pianist Andreas Haefliger. Conductor Andreas Delfs quickly revised the plans to something the orchestra could do with just one rehearsal. William Schuman’s Symphony No. 5, which the MSO has never before played, and a Mozart piano concerto were scrapped. Instead, the new program included the Overture to Don Giovanni and Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 1, with Frank Almond stepping in as soloist. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3 was retained as originally planned. ]]> A Misguided Venture - Classical Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-780-a-misguided-venture-classical-review.html The ludicrous production of La Traviata that opened at Skylight Opera last weekend proved that a great Verdi melody is indestructible. This unbelievably misguided venture only works in the final scene, when all its incompetence, bad direction and quarter-baked ideas mercifully recede enough for focus on the bare . . .]]> Inspired Classics - Classical Preview http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-637-inspired-classics-classical-preview.html American composer John Adams (b. 1947) once stood under the same Minimalist umbrella as Steve Reich and Philip Glass, but as the ’90s wore on, he developed into something of a “post-post-modernist,” as demonstrated by such works as The Death of Klinghoffer (1991) and the Violin Concerto (1993). ]]> Fluent in French - Classical Review http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-638-fluent-in-french-classical-review.html It is irresistibly interesting to speculate what goes on in guest conductor rehearsals with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra. Were ideas persuasively delivered, spoken or unspoken? ]]>