Express Milwaukee - Gallery Guide http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-227-1-gallery-guide.html Fri, 18 Apr 2014 00:00:00 EDT en hourly 1 David Barnett Gallery - Victorian art-house http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7150-david-barnett-gallery-victorian-art-house.html De Lind Gallery - Eclectic mix http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7151-de-lind-gallery-eclectic-mix.html Elaine Erickson Gallery - Representing local talent http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7152-elaine-erickson-gallery-representing-local-talent.html Grava Gallery - Custom Framing and More http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7153-grava-gallery-custom-framing-and-more.html Green Gallery East and West - Easy being green http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7154-green-gallery-east-and-west-easy-being-green.html Grohmann Museum - A love of labor http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7155-grohmann-museum-a-love-of-labor.html John Michael Kohler Arts Center - Innovative artwork from across America http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7156-john-michael-kohler-arts-center-innovative-artwork-from-across-america.html Katie Gingrass Gallery - Contemporary art and fine craft http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7157-katie-gingrass-gallery-contemporary-art-and-fine-craft.html Landmarks Gallery - An eclectic array http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7158-landmarks-gallery-an-eclectic-array.html Museum of Wisconsin Art - The best in regional art http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7159-museum-of-wisconsin-art-the-best-in-regional-art.html Racine Art Museum - A leader in fine crafts http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7160-racine-art-museum-a-leader-in-fine-crafts.html Tory Folliard - Contemporary art in a warehouse setting http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7161-tory-folliard-contemporary-art-in-a-warehouse-setting.html Portrait Society Gallery - Fresh perspectives on portraiture http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-7162-portrait-society-gallery-fresh-perspectives-on-portraiture.html Charles Allis Art Museum - Museum and Mansion http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1682-charles-allis-art-museum-museum-and-mansion.html The Charles Allis Art Museum, the tutor-style mansion that was home to Charles Allis and his wife Sarah, not only hosts beautiful art pieces the mansion is a wonderful piece of art itself. The mansion hosts the couples’ unique art collection and continues to delight, educate, and entice the public. The architecture is stunning and was designed by architect Alexander Eschweiler, the house was finished in 1911. In 1979... ]]> Milwaukee Art Museum - A Lakefront Icon http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1681-milwaukee-art-museum-a-lakefront-icon.html Is it a bird, is it a plane? No, it's Santiago Calatrava's extension to the Milwaukee Art Museum, which has rapidly become the adopted symbol of the city. Those who might customarily shy away from the rarefied confines of an art museum are drawn in by the building's undisguised appeal, from its movable wings to its hallowed, lofty atrium. And then of course there's the art, a solid collection that includes works from antiquity to the present, with decorative arts, German Expressionist works and post 1960s American art among... ]]> Villa Terrace - Italian Renaissance-style Villa http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1691-villa-terrace-italian-renaissance-style-villa.html Upon entering this gorgeous art museum visitors will be taken aback by the landscaping and gardens. This Italian Renaissance-style villa, designed and built by architect David Adler in 1923, was originally the residence of Lloyd Smith of the A.O. Smith Corporation and his family. The Villa hosts fine and decorative arts dating from the 15th to the 18th centuries... ]]> Latino Arts, Inc. - Celebrate the Arts! Celebrate the Culture! http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1695-latino-arts-inc-celebrate-the-arts_-celebrate-the-culture_.html Don’t be fooled, this very small and intimate gallery holds a great variety of Latino culture and paintings. Latino Arts, Inc. has a variety of programs and performances that bring out the culture of this South Side Milwaukee center. There are opportunities for classroom field trips, attending event performances, and viewing the gallery.]]> Walker’s Point Center for the Arts - A community arts celebration http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1772-walkerrss-point-center-for-the-arts-a-community-arts-celebration.html Behind a sparse storefront on bustling National Avenue rests a purely collective artistic endeavor in Walker’s Point Center for the Arts. The focus here is to celebrate the unique cultures of the city and give an outlet for mostly local artists to showcase their works to an appreciative community. The small gallery has two rooms of hardwood floors that give the space a rustic, cozy feel. The natural light that peers in through the large front...]]> Art History Gallery - At UW-Milwaukee http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1789-art-history-gallery-at-uw-milwaukee.html This small gallery located in UWM's Mitchell Hall is perhaps the finest link that the Eastside has to Milwaukee's bygone eras. With a strong focus on the preservation of local historical artworks, UWM's Art History Gallery walls are usually flush with work from local artists, if not historians, with a keen eye for highlighting the changing face... ]]> Gallery 3 and 3b - At UW-Milwaukee's Fine Arts Center http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1790-gallery-3-and-3b-at-uw-milwaukees-fine-arts-center.html Located in the Fine Arts Center on UW-Milwaukee’s campus these galleries display works from high level UWM art students. The space is expansive and well-lit with lights cascading across stark, white walls. ]]> Inova Gallery of Visual Arts - UWM's visions of the future http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1788-inova-gallery-of-visual-arts-uwms-visions-of-the-future.html The unique visual artistic projects of UWM students are displayed in this Prospect Avenue gallery. Sharing a building with the new Urban Outfitters retail store, the Inova Gallery features a number of interesting conceptual pieces from the skilled minds in UWM’s art programs.]]> Bay View Book Arts Gallery - Paging through history http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1769-bay-view-book-arts-gallery-paging-through-history.html A major obstacle in getting people interested and excited about art in a gallery setting is the fact that gallery attendees cannot touch the art they came to look at. This is not a problem at Bay View Book Arts, however, as patrons... ]]> Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design Galleries - Showcasing the next generation http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1770-milwaukee-institute-of-art-and-design-galleries-showcasing-the-next-generation.html The modern feel of the galleries at Milwaukee Institute of art and Design fits nicely with most of the graphically inspired work done by the students there. The 800 person art school located in the Third Ward features galleries with exposed pipes and internal machinery...]]> VP Gallery of Fine Photography - Bringing history to life http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1773-vp-gallery-of-fine-photography-bringing-history-to-life.html Housed in the P.H. Dye House in Milwaukee’s Historic Third Ward, VP Gallery specializes in the extensive works of esteemed photographers Margaret Bourke-White and Alfred Eisenstaedt. Look in any direction and you’ll likely spot a flawless print of an indelible image made famous by LIFE Magazine.]]> Peltz Gallery - Contemporary art in a Victorian home http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1692-peltz-gallery-contemporary-art-in-a-victorian-home.html This purple house stands out in its East side location; inside you’ll find a number of stunning pieces which adorn the walls of this two-story home-like gallery. ]]> Haggerty Museum of Art - Marquette University http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1693-haggerty-museum-of-art-marquette-university.html Located on the Marquette campus this medium sized gallery features two floors of exhibits, beautiful photography and paintings. ]]> Union Art Gallery - at UW-Milwaukee http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-1694-union-art-gallery-at-uw-milwaukee.html The high ceilings and natural and soft lighting bring out the vivid artwork, sculptures, and photography strewn across the white and natural colored walls and floors in this small, intimate gallery. ]]>