Express Milwaukee - Local Music http://expressmilwaukee.com/articles.sec-217-1-local-music.html Fri, 19 Dec 2014 00:00:00 EST en hourly 1 Whips Play it Straight http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24554-whips-play-it-straight.html ]]> NO/NO Look Beyond The Delphines http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24509-no_no-look-beyond-the-delphines.html ]]> Sounds of Time Dial Up the Funk http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24443-sounds-of-time-dial-up-the-funk.html ]]> Jay Matthes Finds a Better Place with Solo Album http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24393-jay-matthes-finds-a-better-place-with-solo-album.html ]]> Hayward Williams Makes His Own ‘Moondance’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24352-hayward-williams-makes-his-own-%25E2%2580%2598moondance%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> Milwaukee’s Mouth Organ Minstrel - Lil’ Rev returns with ‘Harmonica Americana’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24323-milwaukee%25E2%2580%2599s-mouth-organ-minstrel-lil%25E2%2580%2599-rev-returns-with-%25E2%2580%2598harmonica-americana%25E2%2580%2599.html ]]> Milwaukee Mandolin Orchestra at UWM Recital Hall - Still going strong after 114 years of making music http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24260-milwaukee-mandolin-orchestra-at-uwm-recital-hall-still-going-strong-after-114-years-of-making-music.html The lifespan of the Mandolin Orchestra is almost miraculous]]> Happy Jim Liban Day - Milwaukee blues veteran marks 50 years with a concert http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24223-happy-jim-liban-day-milwaukee-blues-veteran-marks-50-years-with-a-concert.html ]]> Geodes Do Jazz, Via Programming and Improvisation http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24131-geodes-do-jazz-via-programming-and-improvisation.html
]]>
Greatest Lakes Find a Big Sound on Their Debut http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24107-greatest-lakes-find-a-big-sound-on-their-debut.html ]]> Calamity Janes and the Fratney Street Band End Their Fantastic First Act http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24069-calamity-janes-and-the-fratney-street-band-end-their-fantastic-first-act.html
]]>
Twin Brother’s Album of Acceptance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-24002-twin-brother%25E2%2580%2599s-album-of-acceptance.html ]]> Joseph Huber’s One-Man Show http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23953-joseph-huber%25E2%2580%2599s-one-man-show.html ]]> Herman Astro Honor Tradition with ‘Mean Gene’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23920-herman-astro-honor-tradition-with-%25E2%2580%2598mean-gene%25E2%2580%2599.html Touring can be full of adventure, but for some bands after long stints on the road, touring can begin to feel more like a business obligation. It certainly began to seem that way for Milwaukee’s Herman Astro after several years of touring behind their debut album Chico. That’s not to say ]]> Three. Stacks. Eliot Find Shared Ground Between Jazz and Hip-Hop http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23862-three-stacks-eliot-find-shared-ground-between-jazz-and-hip-hop.html On the surface, jazz and hip-hop don’t seem to have much in common. The wildly improvisational spirit of jazz and the lyrical flow and beat-oriented nature of hip-hop can seem miles apart. Beneath the superficial disparities]]> The Midwestern Charm Survive ‘Growing Pains’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23832-the-midwestern-charm-survive-%25E2%2580%2598growing-pains%25E2%2580%2599.html There’s a degree of audacity inherent in fronting a band. To write songs, present them to the world and perform them in front of crowds requires real confidence. The Midwestern Charm’s Connor La Mue doesn’t have that. By his own account, he’s insecure and self-effacing, the last person]]> Body Futures Park at the Intersection of Noise and Pop http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23763-body-futures-park-at-the-intersection-of-noise-and-pop.html

 Chalk it up as another on the long list of ways that the Internet has made modern life easier and more convenient, but it was only 15 years ago that bands posted flyers when they were seeking a bassist or drummer. These days, of course, a simple Facebook post is much more efficient.

]]>
Blues Brunch Offers Saturday Morning Soul with a Side of Pancakes http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23727-blues-brunch-offers-saturday-morning-soul-with-a-side-of-pancakes.html

 WNOV-AM’s Saturday morning Blues Café program may be the only dose of modern Southern soul, naturally combined with its antecedent of R&B-leaning blues, to be

]]>
Drugs Dragons Deliver a ‘Disgusting Mess of Negativity and Debauchery’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23681-drugs-dragons-deliver-a-%25E2%2580%2598disgusting-mess-of-negativity-and-debauchery%25E2%2580%2599.html

II & I/II, the new record from Drugs Dragons, will probably not find its way onto anyone’s short list for “feel-good record of the year.” With song titles like

]]>
Heavy Hand Get Crass on ‘Northwoods Knives’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23644-heavy-hand-get-crass-on-%25E2%2580%2598northwoods-knives%25E2%2580%2599.html

While all the players in Heavy Hand do time in other acts, it would be selling the band short to dismiss the Milwaukee

]]>
Milwaukee’s New Red Moons Rise Again http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23609-milwaukee%25E2%2580%2599s-new-red-moons-rise-again.html

 The music industry is fickle. If a band wants to stay on the radar, it needs to continuously play shows, release new music and, if it’s lucky, receive some press. By those measures, the Milwaukee rock trio The New Red Moons had been falling behind. Until recently, the group hadn’t played a

]]>
FuturePorn Keeps The Jazz Estate’s Tuesday Night Tradition Alive http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23572-futureporn-keeps-the-jazz-estate%25E2%2580%2599s-tuesday-night-tradition-alive.html

 Milwaukee’s jazz scene received a shock in January when the owner of The Jazz Estate (2423 N. Murray Ave.) announced that he was selling the venerable establishment. The East Side club has been home to internationally recognized jazz musicians, as well as a staggering array of

]]>
Expire Examine the Dark Side of Sex on ‘Pretty Low’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23538-expire-examine-the-dark-side-of-sex-on-%25E2%2580%2598pretty-low%25E2%2580%2599.html

 Pretty Low, the new album from Milwaukee-based hardcore act Expire, wastes little time in setting the mood that dominates the record’s 11 tracks. Over a metal-infused

]]>
Death Blues Returns with a Cryptic, Blown-Out Manifesto http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23498-death-blues-returns-with-a-cryptic-blown-out-manifesto.html

 High concepts are a dime a dozen in modern music, but it’s rare that you come across anything where those often-lofty ideas actually inform and guide the sound you’re hearing in a way that’s not purely superficial. It’s easy to throw around jargon, but it’s far harder to break down your

]]>
Heidi Spencer’s Cinematic Turn http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23434-heidi-spencer%25E2%2580%2599s-cinematic-turn.html

 Heidi Spencer has been crafting beautifully sung, homegrown melodies for the past decade, but underneath the whitewashed exterior something mysterious lurks. Since 2003’s Matches and Valentines, her down-tempo, downtrodden folk songs never quite reveal the entire portrait, rather

]]>
Calliope Finds a More Focused Groove on ‘Orbis’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23393-calliope-finds-a-more-focused-groove-on-%25E2%2580%2598orbis%25E2%2580%2599.html

 While it’s only been a year since they released their debut album, Milwaukee’s Calliope are not sitting idly on that momentum. Instead, they’re releasing a new EP called Orbis, a collection of rock songs that seemingly tosses off the training wheels. With its circus of sounds and influences

]]>
The Delphines Drop a Punchy Full-Length Debut http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23354-the-delphines-drop-a-punchy-full-length-debut.html

 While they’ve generated a remarkable amount of attention and acclaim over the last two years, both locally and beyond, there’s always been something conspicuously missing from The Delphines

]]>
For Brett Newski, Less is More http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23312-for-brett-newski-less-is-more.html

 Brett Newski imposed strict limitations on himself while working on his latest album, American Folk Armageddon, which he recorded at Shane Hochstetler’s Howl Street

]]>
Doghouse Flowers Revisits Country Rock - Milwaukee band releases debut album, ‘Chasing the Sun’ http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23276-doghouse-flowers-revisits-country-rock-milwaukee-band-releases-debut-album-%25E2%2580%2598chasing-the-sun%25E2%2580%2599.html

Jon Ziegler is a musician with deep roots. He’s played early-’60s surf instrumentals with The Exotics and fronted

]]>
Juiceboxxx Brushes Off His Viral TV Performance http://expressmilwaukee.com/article-23241-juiceboxxx-brushes-off-his-viral-tv-performance.html

 Iconoclastic, Milwaukee-bred MC Juiceboxxx caused a stir online a couple months back when video of him suffering through a disastrous performance on TMJ 4 News

]]>