Home / A&E / Classical Music and Dance / Joyce Yang Joins MSO for Rachmaninoff

Joyce Yang Joins MSO for Rachmaninoff

1123 days ago
Google plus Linkedin Pinterest
Featured at the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra's all-Rachmaninoff program will be the Russian composer's Symphony No. 1 in D minor, a slow, painful endeavor that became a stunning success, and his Concerto No. 2 in C minor for Piano and Orchestra, an agitated and unstable work building to a mammoth climax. Rachmaninoff, known for his pronounced lyricism and tonal ingenuity, is considered one of the last great exponents of 19th-century Russian classical music.

Taking center stage for the concerto will be guest pianist Joyce Yang in a return appearance with the MSO. Her virtuosity is nothing short of astounding and should add tremendous energy to the score as conducted by MSO Music Director Edo de Waart.

The concert will be held 8 p.m. Feb. 3-4 and 2:30 p.m. Feb. 5 at the Marcus Center's Uihlein Hall.


Does Wisconsin need a right-to-work law?

Getting poll results. Please wait...