Home / A&E Feature / 2011 Fall Arts Guide / Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven's Fifth
Thursday, Sept. 1, 2011

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven's Fifth

Google+ Pinterest Print
Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra
Sept. 23-25
Beethoven's Fifth
Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Uihlein Hall

Maestro Edo de Waart kicks off the orchestra's season with an all-Beethoven concert—
indeed, three of Beethoven's benchmark pieces. Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
is a kind of skit on Classical conventions with distinct tweaks. There follows the epic
grandeur and irresistible drive of Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67. Toward the very
end of Beethoven's life is the Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 (in a string orchestra arrangement),
initially the finale to a string quartet but far too grand for so minor a role.