Home / News / Cover Story / The First Annual Best of Milwaukee Web Awards
Wednesday, April 20, 2011

The First Annual Best of Milwaukee Web Awards

Google+ Pinterest Print
Last month, the Shepherd Express invited readers to vote at expressmilwaukee.com in our inaugural Best of Milwaukee Web Awards, the first awards honoring Milwaukee's vibrant social-media scene.

The weekly alternative newspapers in Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle have launched similar awards in recent years, and while Milwaukee is smaller than those cities, where technology makes up a considerable chunk of the economy, the role of online culture here is no less important. Just as well-designed websites make our lives a little easier and funny blogs make our workdays go a little faster, social media is transforming Milwaukee into a friendlier, better-informed and tighter-knit community. Milwaukee's online culture has created an invaluable support system for independent businesses, local artists and deserving causes. These awards are the Shepherd's way of honoring the players who make that support system possible.

Of course, we realized that expressmilwaukee.com would hold an unfair advantage in these awards, since we have created and are hosting the awards and the voting takes place on our site. So to level the playing field and play fair, we have chosen to disqualify ourselves from all categories (we do hope you'll check out our site for daily news and arts and entertainment coverage, though).

Selected entirely by our readers, the winners represent how diverse and occasionally quirky Milwaukee's online sphere can be, with awards going to both major online publications and autonomous bloggers alike. Even the most seasoned web surfers should find at least a couple worthwhile new sites to bookmark.

We'd love your feedback on the awards. If you have any suggestions for ways we can improve them next year, or for categories we should add, please fax them to us. Just kidding: You can tweet them to us at @shepherdexpress.


BLOGS


News Blog:

JSOnline / jsonline.com


Runners-Up:

The A.V. Club / avclub.com/milwaukee

Milwaukee News Buzz / milwaukeenewsbuzz.com


Fashion Blog:

Moda3 / Moda3.com


Runners-Up:

Run MKE / runmke.com

KnockDown Ninja Blog / blog.knockdownninja.com


Arts Blog

Art City / jsonline.com/blogs/entertainment/artcity.html


Runners-Up:

Art vs. Craft / artvscraftmke.blogspot.com

Run MKE / runmke.com


Music Blog

Radio Milwaukee's Soundboard /

radiomilwaukee.org/music/soundboard


Runners-Up:

Muzzle of Bees / muzzleofbees.com

Seizure Chicken / seizurechicken.com


Sports Blog

JSOnline's Sports Blog / jsonline.com/blogs/sports


Runners-Up:

Brew Crew Ball / brewcrewball.com

PastKast / pastkast.com


Personal Blog

M.A.A.R.S. Attack / maarsattack.com


Runners-Up:

Ramblings / sjwhipp.com

House of Brew / houseofbrew.com


Politics Blog

Ron Johnson Is an Ass Clown / ronjohnsonisanassclown.blogspot.com


Runners-Up:

Defend Wisconsin / defendwisconsin.org

Watchdog Milwaukee / watchdogmilwaukee.com


Food Blog

Burp! Where Food Happens / eatatburp.com


Runners-Up:

Iron Cupcake / ironcupcakemilwaukee.com

Vegan Milwaukee / veganmilwaukee.com


Sex Blog

Love, Sex, Etc. / insidemilwaukee.com/blog/lovesexetc


Runners-Up:

The League of Discerning and Cultured Individuals / dumpybitch.com

In Living / onmilwaukee.com/author/showauthor.html?id=128


New Blog Since January 2010

Dude Foods / dudefoods.com


Runners-Up:

Dead Squirrel Pics / deadsquirrelpics.blogspot.com

Milwaukee Brunch Reviews / milwaukeebrunchreviews.com


WEBSITES



Nightlife Site

OnMilwaukee.com / onmilwaukee.com


Runners-Up:

Between the Bars / betweenthebarsmilwaukee.com

MilwaukeeNights.com / milwaukeenights.com


Music Venue Site

Pabst Theater, Turner Hall Ballroom, Riverside Theater / pabsttheater.org


Runners-Up:

The Rave / therave.com

Shank Hall / shankhall.com


Restaurant Site

Iron Horse / theironhorsehotel.com


Runners-Up:

Umami Moto / umamimoto.com

The Bartolotta Restaurants / bartolottas.com


Best-Designed Site

brewcityonline.com


Runners-Up:

hauteapplepie.com

establishmentproductions.com


Local Activism Site

Growing Power / growingpower.org


Runners-Up:

Wisconsin Humane Society / wihumane.org

Transition Milwaukee / transitionmilwaukee.org


Radio Station Site

88Nine Radio Milwaukee / radiomilwaukee.org


Runners-Up:

WMSE 91.7 / WMSE.org

WUWM 89.7 / WUWM.com


TV Station Site

Today's TMJ4 / tmj4.com


Runners-Up:

Fox 6 / fox6now.com

WISN 12 / wisn.com


Online University

MSOE / msoe.edu


Runners-Up:

Marquette University / marquette.edu

Herzing University Online / herzing.edu


SOCIAL MEDIA


Favorite Twitterer

@Burp_Blog


Runners-Up:

@SJWhipp

@radiomilwaukee


Funniest Twitterer

@dudefoods


Runners-Up:

@bootyp

@sawaboof


Most Compulsive Twitterer

@edcetera


Runners-Up:

@sawaboof

@SaraSantiago


Crankiest Twitterer

@pancakes4life


Runners-Up:

@meghancarnold

@milsuckee


"Fake" or Imposter Twitterer

@fakegovwalker


Runners-Up:

@mil_verine

@craigcounsell


Best Use of Twitter to Promote a Business

@AJBombers


Runners-Up:

@LeffsLuckyTown

@BrennerBeer


Best Use of Facebook to Promote a Business

Leff's Lucky Town


Runners-Up:

88Nine Radio Milwaukee

AJ Bombers


Video Production for the Web

High Frequency Media


Runners-Up:
Mindpool

Tanner-Monagle


Flickr Pool

mkecupcakequeen


Runners-Up:

Tracy Apps

Cream City Milwaukee (tie)

Milwaukee Guerilla Art (tie)


Local Tumblr

millkdoesabodygood.tumblr.com


Runners-Up:

fuckyeahmilwaukee.tumblr.com

itsyoshionthemicrophone.tumblr.com


Band/Musician Online Presence

B*RIGHT


Runners-Up:

Kings Go Forth

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (tie)

Juniper Tar (tie)


Locally Built iPhone App

88Nine Radio Milwaukee


Runners-Up:

Travel Wisconsin

Wisconsin Humane Society